Quick Answer
MCA online admission in India is done directly on each university’s portal, with no common entrance test at the universities we checked. You need a bachelor’s degree, usually with 50% marks, and many universities ask for Maths at Class 12 or graduation or a bridge course instead. Create your ABC ID and DEB-ID, apply, upload documents, pay the application fee, and wait for document verification.
Key Highlights
- MCA online admission does not require a BCA at any of the eight universities we checked on 3 November 2026, but non-computer graduates often face a compulsory bridge course, and the Maths rule is where universities differ most.
- MUJ and SMU require a bridge course in computer and IT fundamentals for Science, Commerce, Arts and management graduates, plus a separate Maths bridge course if you did not study Maths in Class 12 or your degree.
- Upfront amounts at the time of applying range from a ₹500 application fee (MUJ and SMU) to a ₹10,000 seat booking (Chandigarh University), as shown on the official MCA pages.
- The MCA is now a two-year degree: UGC’s notification of 3 March 2022 cut the minimum duration from three years to two, so every online MCA we checked runs for four semesters.
- A DEB-ID created through your ABC ID is mandatory for Indian learners, and LPU states that admission “cannot be granted” without a valid one.
How does MCA online admission work in India?
MCA online admission works through each university’s own application portal. There is no central counselling round, and none of the official online MCA pages we checked mentions an entrance test for Indian applicants. You apply, upload your documents, pay a fee, and the university decides after verifying your papers.
UGC’s online programme regulations leave admission criteria to the university itself wherever UGC or another statutory body has not set a rule (Regulation 14). For the MCA, that is why one university accepts “any discipline” while another insists on Maths, and why the same commerce graduate can be directly eligible at one university and need a bridge course at another.
The same regulations also stop a university from admitting you before it has permission. Regulation 5(7) says no institution shall offer an online programme “and admit learners thereto” without UGC recognition, and that admission “shall not be made in anticipation of the recognition”. So the listing check is not paperwork. It is part of admission.
If you have been through an online undergraduate admission, most of this will feel familiar. Our guide to online BCA admission covers the same national ID steps from the Class 12 side. At the master’s level, three things change: your graduation marks matter, your subjects in graduation matter, and the bridge course question appears.
Is the online MCA two years or three?
The online MCA is a two-year degree. UGC’s 2014 Specification of Degrees listed the MCA at three years, but UGC notification F.5-2/2021(CPP-II) of 3 March 2022 reduced the minimum duration to two years, with a bachelor’s degree as the entry qualification. The circular is on the UGC website as the 2022 MCA duration amendment.
Every official page we checked on 3 November 2026 matches this. Amity, LPU, Chandigarh University, GLA and ARKA JAIN all state two years or four semesters, and MUJ and SMU describe a two-year programme. UPES puts it as 24 months.
Two practical points follow for your admission. First, be careful with anything that promises an MCA in less than two years; the minimum is set nationally. Second, Regulation 13 of the 2020 regulations makes the maximum duration double the minimum, so you normally have up to four years to finish. That matters if your work schedule is unpredictable.
When can you apply? The January and July sessions
You can join an online MCA in two sessions a year. Regulation 2(b) of the 2020 regulations defines the academic session as twelve months “beginning either in January to February or in the month of July to August”, and universities run their admission windows around those two starts.
What you see on university pages is a mix of countdowns and labels, and they do not always tell you which batch they belong to. On 3 November 2026:
- MUJ and SMU showed “Last date of admission: 3rd Nov”, with no year printed.
- LPU showed “Application Deadline: 7th Nov ’26” and the line “Batches start every 6 months”.
- Amity showed “Jul ’26 Admissions Open”.
- Chandigarh University’s banner still read “Admissions Closing July Session 2025”, with an early bird scholarship “closing on 14th October” and no year.
- GLA’s “Date of commencement” field was blank.
There is also a national cut-off you should know about. The UGC-DEB student portal stated on 3 November 2026: “Last date to admit learners in ODL/Online programmes for August, 2026 session is 13 October, 2026.” Any application accepted after that date is therefore for a later session, not the August 2026 one. That is normal, but you should ask the university in writing which session you are joining and when classes begin. We do not list deadlines for the next session here because none of the official pages published one clearly; a date we guess would be worse than no date.
Who is eligible for an online MCA?
You are eligible at most universities if you hold a three-year bachelor’s degree from a recognised university, usually with at least 50% marks. A BCA or BSc in Computer Science or IT is the direct route. Other graduates are usually accepted too, but often with a Maths condition or a bridge course.
Here is the eligibility on each official MCA page, as checked on 3 November 2026:
| University | Degree accepted | Minimum marks | Maths or bridge condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Amity University Online | Bachelor’s degree, BCA or equivalent preferred; Science, Commerce or Arts with Maths at 10+2 | Not stated | Without Maths at 10+2 or graduation, apply after a bridge course |
| Manipal University Jaipur (MUJ) | 10+2+3 bachelor’s in Computer Applications, CS or IT; other streams also eligible | 50% (45% reserved categories) | Other streams: compulsory bridge course in computer and IT fundamentals; no Maths in 10+2 or degree: compulsory Maths bridge course |
| Sikkim Manipal University (SMU) | Same as MUJ | 50% (45% reserved categories) | Same as MUJ |
| LPU Online | BCA, BSc CS or IT, BTech CSE or equivalent; or any graduation with Maths at graduation or 10+2 | Not stated in the FAQ | BA, BCom or BSc with Maths: with additional bridge courses; BTech outside CSE, IT and ECE: bridge courses |
| Chandigarh University Online | BCA, BSc CS or IT and similar; BCom, BA and other degrees also | Not stated | Mathematics, Business Mathematics, Programming or Statistics at 10+2 or graduation |
| UPES Online | Bachelor’s in any discipline; online or ODL graduates from UGC-DEB recognised institutions; CA, CS or ICWA | 50%, or 45% with 2 years of work experience | No Maths or bridge condition on the main MCA page |
| GLA University Online | “Graduation from recognized University” | Not stated | None stated |
| ARKA JAIN University | Three-year bachelor’s degree | 50% (45% reserved categories) | None stated; final semester students may apply |
The fees side of each programme is covered in our online MCA course fees comparison. Use the table above as your first filter, then compare price.
Can you get MCA online admission without a BCA?
Yes. None of the eight universities above limits its online MCA to BCA graduates. What changes for a non-BCA graduate is the extra condition attached to admission, and those conditions fall into four patterns.
Pattern 1: compulsory bridge course for every non-computer graduate
MUJ and SMU use identical wording. A graduate from “Science, Business Administration, Business Management, Arts & Humanities, Commerce, etc.” is eligible but must “attend and complete a compulsory bridge course in fundamentals of computer and IT” alongside semester 1. If you did not study Maths in Class 12 or your bachelor’s degree, a second compulsory bridge course in Maths is added, also alongside semester 1.
So a BCom graduate with Maths in Class 12 takes one bridge course. A BA graduate without Maths takes two. A BCA graduate takes none. Both pages also list “Fundamentals of Mathematics” among the regular programme subjects, which tells you how much the course leans on Maths from the start.
Pattern 2: Maths is the gate, bridge courses fill the gap
LPU’s FAQ is the most detailed. Direct entry covers BCA, BSc in Computer Science or IT, a computer science engineering degree, or any graduation with Computer Science as a three-year subject and Maths, Statistics, QT or Business Maths at graduation or 10+2. A BA, BCom or BSc graduate with Maths at graduation or 10+2 is eligible “with additional bridge courses”. On BTech graduates, LPU says only CSE, IT and ECE candidates skip the bridge courses; every other BTech branch takes them.
Read that carefully if you studied commerce. On LPU’s wording, Maths at Class 12 or graduation is part of the route for a BA or BCom graduate, so a commerce graduate without any Maths should ask LPU before applying.
Chandigarh University sets a similar gate without mentioning a bridge course: you need Mathematics, Business Mathematics, Programming or Statistics at 10+2 or graduation level.
Pattern 3: bridge course replaces the Maths requirement
Amity prefers a BCA, accepts Science, Commerce or Arts graduates with Maths at 10+2, and says students “without Mathematics at 10+2 or graduation can apply after completing the bridge course”. Its FAQ adds that Amity provides that bridge course. The page does not say how long it takes or whether it is charged separately, so ask both questions.
Pattern 4: no subject condition stated
UPES, GLA and ARKA JAIN do not state a Maths or subject condition on their MCA pages. UPES accepts a bachelor’s degree “in any discipline” with 50%, or 45% with two years of work experience, and also accepts CA, CS and ICWA qualifications. GLA asks only for graduation from a recognised university. ARKA JAIN asks for 50% (45% for reserved categories).
“Not stated” is not the same as “not required”. A university can still add a condition in its prospectus or at verification. If you are a non-Maths graduate choosing one of these three because of the open wording, ask for written confirmation that your degree qualifies before you pay anything beyond the application fee.
Should a non-BCA graduate do an online MCA at all?
That is your call, and the bridge course is a fair test of it. MUJ’s subject list includes C programming and discrete mathematics, and at MUJ and SMU the bridge course runs alongside your semester 1 subjects, not before them. MUJ and SMU say learners should spend at least 15 to 20 hours a week on study. If you are working full time and starting from zero in programming, plan your first semester around that number, not around the brochure. Our guide to online MCA vs distance MCA explains how the two modes compare on teaching support if you are still deciding on format.
What are ABC ID and DEB-ID, and do you need them for an MCA?
Yes, you need both. The ABC ID is your Academic Bank of Credits account, and the DEB-ID is a learner ID generated on UGC’s Distance Education Bureau portal using that ABC ID. A university cannot complete your online MCA admission without the DEB-ID.
UGC’s public notice on learner registration made the DEB-ID mandatory for all learners, except foreign learners, from the session beginning October 2024. The DEB portal describes it as a unique ID “to be mandatorily created by the learner”. LPU’s DEB-ID guidance page adds two useful lines: the DEB-ID “will remain valid for the student’s lifetime”, and “Without a valid DEB-ID, admission cannot be granted to ODL/OL Programmes.”
If you did an online or distance BCA or BCom after 2024, you already have a DEB-ID. Reuse it. You do not create a second one for the MCA.
If you are new to this, the order is:
- Create your ABC ID through DigiLocker, as the DEB portal advises.
- Check your ABC or APAAR card for errors in your name, date of birth and gender. The portal has a section headed “Steps to Correct APAAR/ABC Card Before Creating DEB ID” and says to proceed only after confirming the card is correct.
- Generate the DEB-ID on the DEB portal using your ABC ID.
- Enter both numbers in the university application.
MUJ’s and SMU’s MCA pages add that ABC accounts have been mandatory for online and distance students since 2022-23, and that Indian learners give their 12-digit Aadhaar number, name as on Aadhaar and Aadhaar-linked mobile number. A graduate who has changed their name after marriage, or whose degree certificate spells the name differently from Aadhaar, should fix this first. It is the most common reason a verification stalls.
Step-by-step: how to apply for an online MCA
The sequence is the same everywhere: confirm eligibility, create IDs, register, fill the form, upload documents, pay, and wait for verification. Here is each step with what to watch.
Step 1: Match your degree to the eligibility table
Pick two or three universities where your degree, marks and Maths background clearly qualify. If you need a bridge course, note which one and ask whether it is charged separately.
Step 2: Confirm the MCA is on the UGC-DEB list for your session
Check the university and the MCA on the current list before you register. Our walkthrough of checking a UGC approved online MBA shows how to read the DEB lists, and the method is the same for an MCA.
Step 3: Create or locate your ABC ID and DEB-ID
Keep both numbers ready before you open the form.
Step 4: Register and pay the application or registration fee
MUJ and SMU ask you to fill in basic, education and work experience details and pay the application fee to register. LPU’s admission portal lists “Registration” first: sign up and pay the initial registration fee.
Step 5: Complete the form and upload documents
Enter your graduation details exactly as on your marksheets. Upload clear colour scans of originals.
Step 6: Pay the first semester or year fee
MUJ’s process puts this before document upload: pay the admission fee for the first semester, the first year or the full programme. LPU asks you to pay the applicable programme fee when you complete the application.
Step 7: Document verification and confirmation
The university checks your papers. SMU’s FAQ says the final decision on selection is notified “within five working days of submitting the application”. LPU gives provisional registration and LMS access first, then confirms admission after document verification. ARKA JAIN sends an offer letter, confirms admission on receipt of fees, and then issues an enrolment number and ID card.
Step 8: Start classes and any bridge course
Once confirmed, you get your login. Bridge courses at MUJ and SMU run alongside semester 1, so they start when the semester does. If you want a sense of the weekly routine on these platforms, our guide to what online classes are like describes live sessions, recordings and proctored exams; it uses the MBA as the example, but the MCA platforms work the same way.
MCA online admission at each university
The broad steps match, but each university publishes different details. Here is what the official MCA pages showed on 3 November 2026.
| University | Admission steps on the page | Upfront amount at application | Official page |
|---|---|---|---|
| Amity University Online | Upload scanned documents on the admission portal; no numbered steps | Not stated | Amity online MCA |
| Manipal University Jaipur | Register and pay application fee, pay first semester or year fee, upload documents, university approval | ₹500 application fee, non-refundable | MUJ MCA page on onlinemanipal.com |
| Sikkim Manipal University | Register and pay application fee, upload documents, university approval; decision within five working days | ₹500 application fee incl. GST, non-refundable | SMU MCA page on onlinemanipal.com |
| LPU Online | Registration, application with documents and fee, provisional registration and LMS access, document verification | ₹1,000 registration fee, non-refundable, not part of the programme fee | LPU online MCA |
| Chandigarh University Online | Not listed; Apply Now button | ₹10,000 to book a seat | CU online MCA |
| UPES Online | Apply Now, fill details, upload scanned marksheets and ID proof, pay application fee | Application fee amount not stated | UPES online MCA |
| GLA University Online | Not listed; Apply Now button | ₹2,000 one-time registration | GLA online MCA |
| ARKA JAIN University | Apply online with credentials, offer letter, fee payment, enrolment number and ID card | ₹2,500 one-time registration (processing) | ARKA JAIN online MCA |
Amity University Online
Amity asks for Class 10, Class 12 and graduation marksheets plus a government-issued ID, uploaded to its admission portal. It prefers a BCA, accepts other graduates with Maths at 10+2, and offers a bridge course for those without Maths. Amity is also the clearest on final-year students: its page says you can join “even if you are in your graduation’s final year”, on provisional admission, and submit your marksheet once you get it. No application fee or minimum percentage is shown, so ask for both in writing. Our Amity University Online profile has more on the university.
Manipal University Jaipur
MUJ publishes a four-step process: register and pay a non-refundable ₹500 application fee, pay the first semester, year or full fee, upload documents, and wait for university approval. Eligibility is 50% in graduation (45% for reserved categories), with the two bridge courses described above for non-computer and non-Maths graduates. Work experience is not required. Our Manipal University Jaipur page covers the university itself.
Sikkim Manipal University
SMU’s eligibility and bridge course wording is the same as MUJ’s. Its FAQ adds two details that are useful at admission time: the ₹500 application fee includes GST and is over and above the course fee, and the admissions team may contact you by email, SMS or phone if it needs more documents. SMU’s exams run on a Windows desktop or laptop with the latest Google Chrome, and the Safe Exam Browser does not work on iOS. See our Sikkim Manipal University profile for more.
LPU Online
LPU’s MCA page keeps eligibility in its FAQ (covered in Pattern 2 above) and shows a ₹1,000 registration fee that is non-refundable and not part of the programme fee. Its admission portal publishes the fullest document list of any university here, and its notes are worth following everywhere: your name must match your educational documents, and files must be clearly visible and not password-protected. More is on our LPU Online profile.
Chandigarh University Online
CU accepts BCA, BSc CS or IT and similar degrees, and other graduates such as BCom or BA, as long as you studied Mathematics, Business Mathematics, Programming or Statistics at 10+2 or graduation. The page shows a ₹10,000 seat booking but no documents or steps. Its session banner was out of date when we checked, so ask the counsellor which session your seat booking is for and whether the ₹10,000 is refundable.
UPES Online
UPES lists five steps: visit the site, click Apply Now, fill in personal, academic and contact details, upload scanned marksheets and ID proof, and pay the application fee. It does not show the fee amount. Its eligibility is the broadest of the eight: any discipline with 50%, or 45% with two years of work experience, and it explicitly accepts graduates of online and ODL programmes from UGC-DEB recognised institutions, and CA, CS or ICWA qualifications.
GLA University Online
GLA asks only for graduation from a recognised university and shows a ₹2,000 one-time registration fee. It does not list documents or steps, and its commencement date field was blank on the day we checked. GLA is on the 2026-27 entitled list with the MCA. Our GLA University profile has more background.
ARKA JAIN University
ARKA JAIN asks for a three-year degree with 50% (45% for reserved categories), and says final semester students may apply. You submit the form with copies of your certificates to the Programme Coordinator and pay a ₹2,500 registration and processing fee. On selection you get an offer letter, and once the fee is received, your enrolment number and ID card. Read the listing note in the UGC-DEB section below before you apply. More is on our ARKA JAIN University page.
Why NMIMS is not on this list
NMIMS runs online programmes, but on the 2026-27 entitled list they are BBA, BCom, MBA and MBA (Working Executive). It does not offer an online MCA, so it has no admission process to describe here.
Documents required for MCA online admission
At minimum you need your Class 10, Class 12 and graduation marksheets, a government photo ID, a photograph and a signature. MUJ makes Aadhaar mandatory for Indian citizens. LPU’s list is the most complete, and it works as a master checklist even if you apply elsewhere:
- Scanned passport-size colour photograph
- Scanned signature
- Scanned qualification documents from Class 10 to your highest qualification
- Scanned degree or diploma documents, as applicable
- Scanned government ID proof with photograph
- Scanned residence or address proof, if different from the ID
- Scanned disability certificate, if applicable
- Scanned sample of handwriting, to be referred to in examinations
LPU adds: “You need to scan the original documents, not the photocopies.”
MUJ’s MCA page lists as mandatory: Aadhaar as proof of identity for Indian citizens, address proof (Aadhaar, passport, voter’s ID, gas bill, bank statement or post-paid mobile statement), Class 10 and 12 marksheets, and the graduation marksheet. Its optional list includes the graduation degree certificate, work experience certificate, scholarship documents, defence service certificate, divyaang certificate and reserved category certificate. Amity asks for the 10th, 12th and graduation marksheets plus a government ID.
For an MCA in particular, keep two extra papers ready:
- Every semester or year marksheet of your degree, not only the final one. That is how a university confirms whether you studied Maths, Statistics or Computer Science at graduation level.
- Your Class 12 marksheet showing subjects, if your Maths came from school rather than college. MUJ, SMU, LPU, Amity and CU all accept Maths at 10+2 level in some form.
International applicants and those with foreign qualifications need an equivalence certificate from the Association of Indian Universities at Amity, MUJ and SMU.
How much do you pay at the time of MCA online admission?
At the application stage you pay a small application or registration amount, then the first semester or year fee once you are accepted. On 3 November 2026 the official MCA pages showed:
- MUJ: ₹500 application fee, non-refundable
- SMU: ₹500 application fee, inclusive of GST, non-refundable
- LPU: ₹1,000 registration fee, non-refundable and not part of the programme fee
- GLA: ₹2,000 one-time registration
- ARKA JAIN: ₹2,500 one-time registration, towards processing charges
- Chandigarh University: ₹10,000 to book a seat
- Amity and UPES: amount not stated on the MCA page
Semester fees, totals, EMI and scholarships are a separate subject, and our online MCA fees guide covers them university by university. Several of those offers are tied to dates, so read the date first.
Before you pay anything, ask two questions in writing: is this amount refundable, and is it adjusted against the programme fee? Also ask whether the bridge course carries a separate fee. None of the MCA pages we checked showed a bridge course fee, which does not mean there is none. Pay only through the university’s own portal or official account, and keep every receipt.
Can final-year students apply for an online MCA?
At some universities, yes. Amity’s page says you can join in your graduation’s final year through provisional admission and submit your marksheet once you receive it. ARKA JAIN says candidates in their final semester are eligible to apply. The other six MCA pages we checked did not address final-year applicants.
If your result is not out, two things are worth confirming before you pay. First, ask what happens if your final marks fall below the 50% threshold. Second, ask by what date the final marksheet must be submitted and what happens to your fee if you miss it. Get both answers in writing.
Is there an entrance exam for MCA online admission?
None of the eight official online MCA pages we checked mentions an entrance test for Indian applicants. Admission is based on your graduation, the university’s subject and marks conditions, and document verification.
Some articles online describe admit cards, entrance tests and counselling rounds for online MCA admission. Those steps belong to campus MCA admissions at some universities, not to the online programmes we reviewed. If a counsellor tells you a test is required for an online MCA, ask for the page or prospectus that says so.
What happens if your documents are rejected?
If a document is rejected or flagged, the university will usually ask you to upload a corrected or clearer version. Your admission stays incomplete until verification passes. SMU says it will contact you by email, SMS or phone if it needs clarification or more documents, so watch all three.
The reasons are usually avoidable:
- Blurry phone photos or photocopies instead of colour scans of originals
- A name or date of birth that differs across marksheets, Aadhaar and the ABC record
- Only the final-year marksheet uploaded, so the university cannot see your Maths or Computer Science subjects
- Password-protected PDF files
- Marks below the stated threshold, or a reserved category claim without the certificate
- A degree that does not meet the subject condition, such as a BCom without Maths at a university that asks for it
If the issue is in your ABC or APAAR record, correct the record first through the channels the DEB portal lists, then make sure the DEB-ID reflects it, and only then re-submit to the university. If the university decides you are not eligible, ask in writing what happens to the amount you have paid and which part is refundable. Application fees at MUJ, SMU and LPU are stated as non-refundable.
Which universities list the online MCA on the UGC-DEB list?
On the UGC-DEB 2026-27 entitled list, Amity University Uttar Pradesh, Manipal University Jaipur, Sikkim Manipal University, Lovely Professional University, Chandigarh University, UPES and GLA University appear with an MCA. NMIMS does not.
ARKA JAIN is not on the entitled list, but its MCA is on the 2026-27 recognised list, recognised from the July-August 2025 session to 2029-30 (up to the January 2030 intake), together with its BCA and BCom (General). Check that your admission session falls inside that period before you pay. Remember Regulation 5(7): admission cannot be made in anticipation of recognition.
Why check at admission time and not later? Because your degree must come from a programme the university was permitted to run online for your session. UGC also requires the mode of delivery to be printed on the back of your degree and mark sheets, which we explain in our guide to what your degree certificate shows.
Common mistakes that delay MCA online admission
Most delays at the master’s level come from a short list of avoidable errors:
- Assuming a BCom or BA qualifies everywhere, when LPU and CU want Maths or a related subject at 10+2 or graduation
- Not reading the bridge course condition, then discovering two extra courses in semester 1
- Starting the form before creating the ABC ID and DEB-ID, or creating a second DEB-ID when you already have one
- Paying a seat booking or registration fee before eligibility is confirmed in writing
- Uploading only the final degree marksheet
- Missing which session a “last date” refers to
- Not checking the UGC-DEB listing for the MCA itself, as distinct from the university
Your MCA online admission checklist
Run through this before you submit:
- My degree and marks meet the university’s stated threshold (50% at MUJ, SMU, UPES and ARKA JAIN; 45% for reserved categories where stated)
- I know whether I need a computer bridge course, a Maths bridge course, both or neither, and whether either is charged
- If the page is silent on Maths, I have written confirmation that my degree qualifies
- My ABC ID details match my marksheets and Aadhaar
- My DEB-ID is generated from that ABC ID (or I am reusing my existing one)
- The university and the MCA appear on the UGC-DEB list for my session
- I know which session (January or July) I am joining and when classes start
- I have colour scans of Class 10, Class 12 and every graduation marksheet, ID, photo and signature
- I know the application amount and whether it is refundable
- My device meets the exam requirements (Windows and Chrome at MUJ and SMU)
Not sure whether your BCom, BA or BSc qualifies directly or needs a bridge course? Talk to an admission counsellor and we will check your graduation subjects, marks and the current UGC-DEB listing with you before you pay anything.
How GetOnlineDegree.in Helps
We help you shortlist online MCA programmes from universities on the UGC-DEB lists, using the official programme pages rather than brochures. When you speak to us, we compare your degree and subjects with each university’s stated eligibility, tell you where a bridge course applies, and point out where a page is silent or out of date, such as session banners or a missing application fee.
We can also walk you through the ABC ID and DEB-ID steps and help you assemble a clean document set, including the semester marksheets that prove your Maths background. We do not promise admission or placement; the decision, and the application, stay yours.
Conclusion
MCA online admission is open to most graduates, BCA or not. The real work is in matching your degree to each university’s wording: 50% in graduation at several universities, Maths at 10+2 or graduation at LPU and CU, and compulsory bridge courses at MUJ and SMU for non-computer and non-Maths graduates. After that, the steps are the same everywhere: ABC ID, DEB-ID, application, documents, fee and verification.
Check the UGC-DEB listing for the MCA for your session, read which batch a “last date” belongs to, and get anything unclear in writing before you pay. A six-month wait for the next session is better than starting a two-year degree you are not eligible for.
FAQs
Can I get MCA online admission without a BCA?
Yes. All eight universities we checked accept non-BCA graduates in some form. MUJ and SMU add a compulsory computer bridge course for other streams, plus a Maths bridge course if you lacked Maths in Class 12 and your degree. LPU and CU look for Maths or a related subject at 10+2 or graduation. UPES, GLA and ARKA JAIN state no subject condition.
Is Maths compulsory for an online MCA?
It depends on the university. CU asks for Mathematics, Business Mathematics, Programming or Statistics at 10+2 or graduation, and LPU’s routes for BA, BCom and BSc graduates require Maths at either level. MUJ, SMU and Amity let you in without Maths through a bridge course. UPES, GLA and ARKA JAIN do not state a Maths rule on their MCA pages.
Is a DEB-ID required for online MCA admission?
Yes, for Indian learners. UGC made the DEB-ID mandatory for online and distance programmes from the session beginning October 2024. You generate it on the UGC-DEB portal using your ABC ID, and it stays valid for life, so reuse the one from your undergraduate degree if you have it. LPU states that admission cannot be granted without it.
Is the online MCA a two-year course?
Yes. UGC’s notification of 3 March 2022 reduced the MCA’s minimum duration from three years to two, with a bachelor’s degree as entry. Every online MCA we checked runs for two years over four semesters. Under the 2020 regulations, the maximum time allowed is double the minimum, so you normally have up to four years to finish.
What is the minimum percentage for MCA online admission?
MUJ, SMU and ARKA JAIN ask for 50% in graduation, or 45% for reserved categories. UPES asks for 50%, or 45% with at least two years of work experience. Amity, LPU, CU and GLA did not state a minimum percentage on their MCA pages when we checked on 3 November 2026, so confirm it with the university before applying.