Quick Answer
For the 2026-27 academic year, 124 Indian universities appear on UGC-DEB’s online lists with an MBA, by our count of the two official PDFs published on 22 September 2026. 105 are on the entitled list and 19 are on the recognised list. Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh and Karnataka have the most. Check the exact row, programme name and session before you pay.
Key Highlights
- The official answer to which online MBA Indian universities are allowed to run in 2026-27 sits in two UGC-DEB PDFs: an entitled list of 126 universities, 105 of which list an MBA, and a recognised list where 19 universities list one (our count).
- Private universities make up 40 of the 105 entitled MBA providers, deemed universities 33, state universities 24, central universities 6 and state open universities 2 (our count from the type column).
- Some universities are listed only for a specialised MBA, such as International Business at IIFT and Gujarat Technological University or Human Resource Management at the University of Calicut, so the general MBA you saw advertised may not be the one on the list.
- Several recognised-list entries are time-limited: TERI School of Advanced Studies and Jaypee Institute of Information Technology are listed for the 2026-27 sessions only, and AMET for the August 2026 and January-February 2027 sessions only.
- Names that look alike belong to different universities: Amity Uttar Pradesh and Amity Rajasthan are separate rows, and so are Manipal Academy of Higher Education, Manipal University Jaipur and Sikkim Manipal University.
Which Indian universities offer an online MBA in 2026-27?
124 universities, by our count of the two UGC-DEB lists for 2026-27. UGC-DEB, the Distance Education Bureau of the University Grants Commission, publishes the names of universities allowed to run online programmes, session by session, with the programmes each one may offer. For 2026-27 the two documents that matter are the 2026-27 entitled list and the 2026-27 recognised list. We downloaded both on 3 November 2026 and read every row.
Here is what the count looks like.
| What we counted | Number | How we got it |
|---|---|---|
| Universities on the 2026-27 entitled list | 126 | Last serial number on the list |
| Entitled universities whose row includes an MBA | 105 | Our count of rows naming a Master of Business Administration |
| Entitled universities with no MBA in their row | 21 | Our calculation: 126 minus 105 |
| Recognised-list universities whose row includes an MBA | 19 | Our count of the 22 rows on the recognised list |
| Total Indian universities with an online MBA on either list | 124 | Our calculation: 105 plus 19, with Manav Rachna counted once because its recognised row lists only a BA |
Two things the count does not tell you. It does not say how good any programme is, and it does not replace checking your own session. A university can be listed for one intake and missing from the next, and a row can name a specialised MBA rather than the general one. That is why the tables below give the programme names exactly as UGC-DEB printed them.
If you want to understand how to read a listing before you trust it, our guide to the UGC approved online MBA walks through the verification steps on the official portal. This article does a different job: it gives you the list itself, grouped so you can find universities in or near your state, and then shows how to compare them.
Why does a list for “online” ignore where you live?
Because online programmes have no territorial limit. Under the UGC 2020 online and ODL regulations, distance (ODL) programmes from state and private universities are tied to the university’s own state, but full online programmes are not. A learner in Kerala can enrol in an online MBA from a university in Punjab. We group the list by state only because many learners prefer a university they know, can visit or whose alumni they meet at work.
Entitled or recognised: what is the difference for your MBA?
An entitled university can start online programmes without prior UGC approval because it meets a higher quality bar; a recognised university needed UGC’s approval for specific programmes and periods. Under Regulation 3(B)(a), entitlement needs a NAAC score of 3.26 or more, or a top-100 NIRF University rank at least twice in the three preceding cycles. Regulation 3(B)(b) gives recognition to universities with at least three years of existence and a NAAC score of 3.01, or a top-100 NIRF University rank at least once in the last two cycles.
For you as a student, both kinds of listing mean the online MBA named in that row may be offered for the period shown. Regulation 22 treats online degrees from recognised institutions as equivalent to the corresponding conventional degrees. The practical difference shows up in the recognised list, which prints a recognition period for each row. Read that period carefully, because some end sooner than you might expect.
| Point | Entitled list | Recognised list |
|---|---|---|
| Basis in the 2020 regulations | Regulation 3(B)(a): NAAC 3.26 or NIRF top 100 twice in three cycles | Regulation 3(B)(b): NAAC 3.01 or NIRF top 100 once in two cycles, plus UGC approval |
| Rows with an MBA in 2026-27 | 105 (our count) | 19 (our count) |
| Recognition period printed per row | No | Yes, with first and last admission sessions |
| What to check | That your exact MBA name is in the row | That your MBA is in the row and your intake falls inside the printed period |
Distance MBAs are a separate matter. Universities running an MBA in ODL mode appear on a third UGC-DEB list, and our guide to the UGC approved distance MBA covers it. If you are still choosing between the two modes, read online MBA vs distance MBA first.
The entitled list: universities with an online MBA, by state
These are the 105 universities on the 2026-27 entitled list whose row includes a Master of Business Administration, as we read the PDF on 3 November 2026. The “Row” column is the serial number printed on the list, so you can scroll straight to it. Names are written as printed, with capitalisation tidied. The type is the “Type of HEI” column: private university, deemed to be university, state university, central university or state open university.
A note on accuracy before you use these tables. The PDF is a scanned document with a “University Grants Commission” watermark running across the text, so copied text comes out with columns interleaved. We read every MBA row against the scanned page. Where a row could not be read with full confidence, we say “confirm in the PDF” rather than guess. Two rows carry that note.
South India: Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Telangana
| Row | State | University (as printed) | Type | MBA programmes listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Andhra Pradesh | Andhra University | State | MBA |
| 2 | Andhra Pradesh | Koneru Lakshmaiah Education Foundation | Deemed | MBA; MBA (Digital Marketing); MBA (Data Science) |
| 3 | Andhra Pradesh | Vignan’s Foundation for Science, Technology and Research | Deemed | MBA (General); MBA (HR); MBA (Finance) |
| 4 | Andhra Pradesh | Mohan Babu University | Private | MBA |
| 5 | Andhra Pradesh | Sri Venkateswara University | State | MBA |
| 35 | Karnataka | Jain (Deemed-to-be University) | Deemed | MBA |
| 36 | Karnataka | JSS Academy of Higher Education and Research | Deemed | MBA (Hospital Administration); MBA (Pharmacy Administration) |
| 37 | Karnataka | Manipal Academy of Higher Education | Deemed | MBA; MBA (Banking and Financial Services) |
| 40 | Karnataka | University of Mysore | State | MBA; MBA in Supply Chain, Operations, HRM, Finance, Marketing and Dual |
| 41 | Karnataka | Yenepoya | Deemed | MBA |
| 42 | Karnataka | Visvesvaraya Technological University (confirm in the PDF: the name is garbled in the scan) | State | MBA (Business Analytics); MBA (HR/MM/FM); MBA (Digital Marketing) |
| 43 | Karnataka | Karnataka State Open University | State open | MBA |
| 45 | Karnataka | Dayanand Sagar University | Private | MBA |
| 46 | Karnataka | Alliance University | Private | MBA |
| 47 | Karnataka | Adichunchanagiri University | Private | MBA |
| 48 | Karnataka | St. Aloysius | Deemed | MBA |
| 49 | Karnataka | REVA University | Private | Six dual MBAs, such as Finance and Marketing |
| 50 | Kerala | Mahatma Gandhi University | State | MBA |
| 51 | Kerala | University of Calicut | State | MBA (Human Resource Management) only |
| 52 | Kerala | University of Kerala | State | MBA (General) |
| 82 | Tamil Nadu | Bharathidasan University | State | MBA |
| 84 | Tamil Nadu | B.S. Abdur Rahman Institute of Science and Technology | Deemed | MBA |
| 85 | Tamil Nadu | Central University of Tamil Nadu | Central | MBA |
| 87 | Tamil Nadu | Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute | Deemed | MBA |
| 88 | Tamil Nadu | Shanmugha Arts, Science, Technology & Research Academy | Deemed | MBA |
| 89 | Tamil Nadu | Sathyabama Institute of Science and Technology | Deemed | MBA |
| 90 | Tamil Nadu | S.R.M. Institute of Science and Technology | Deemed | MBA |
| 92 | Tamil Nadu | Kalasalingam Academy of Research and Higher Education | Deemed | MBA |
| 93 | Tamil Nadu | Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham | Deemed | MBA |
| 94 | Tamil Nadu | Alagappa University | State | MBA |
| 95 | Tamil Nadu | Bharathiar University | State | MBA |
| 96 | Tamil Nadu | Vellore Institute of Technology | Deemed | MBA |
| 97 | Tamil Nadu | Manonmaniam Sundaranar University | State | MBA (General) |
| 98 | Tamil Nadu | Hindustan Institute of Technology and Science | Deemed | MBA |
| 99 | Tamil Nadu | Karunya Institute of Technology and Sciences | Deemed | MBA |
| 101 | Tamil Nadu | Anna University | State | MBA (General Management); MBA (Business Analytics) |
| 102 | Tamil Nadu | Vel’s Institute of Science, Technology & Advanced Studies | Deemed | MBA |
| 105 | Telangana | ICFAI Foundation for Higher Education | Deemed | MBA |
Count for this group: 38 universities (our count).
North India: Delhi, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand
| Row | State | University (as printed) | Type | MBA programmes listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10 | Delhi | Jamia Hamdard | Deemed | MBA |
| 11 | Delhi | Jamia Millia Islamia | Central | MBA |
| 15 | Delhi | Indian Institute of Foreign Trade | Deemed | MBA (International Business) only |
| 25 | Haryana | Guru Jambheshwar University of Science and Technology | State | MBA (General) |
| 26 | Haryana | Kurukshetra University | State | MBA |
| 28 | Haryana | Maharishi Markandeshwar | Deemed | MBA |
| 29 | Haryana | Manav Rachna International Institute of Research & Studies | Deemed | MBA (confirm in the PDF: the printed list skips item 2) |
| 30 | Haryana | Shree Guru Gobind Singh Tricentenary University | Private | MBA |
| 31 | Himachal Pradesh | Shoolini University of Biotechnology and Management Sciences | Private | MBA |
| 32 | Himachal Pradesh | Central University of Himachal Pradesh | Central | MBA |
| 67 | Punjab | Chandigarh University | Private | MBA |
| 68 | Punjab | Chitkara University | Private | MBA |
| 69 | Punjab | Lovely Professional University | Private | MBA |
| 70 | Punjab | Guru Nanak Dev University | State | MBA; MBA (Financial Management); MBA (Marketing Management); MBA (HRM) |
| 71 | Punjab | Guru Kashi University | Private | MBA (General) |
| 72 | Punjab | Desh Bhagat University | Private | MBA |
| 107 | Uttar Pradesh | Aligarh Muslim University | Central | MBA |
| 108 | Uttar Pradesh | Amity University (Uttar Pradesh) | Private | MBA |
| 109 | Uttar Pradesh | Bennett University | Private | MBA |
| 110 | Uttar Pradesh | Chaudhary Charan Singh University | State | MBA; MBA (Hospital Administration) |
| 111 | Uttar Pradesh | Dr. B.R. Ambedkar University | State | MBA; MBA (Travel and Tourism Management) |
| 112 | Uttar Pradesh | Sharda University | Private | MBA |
| 113 | Uttar Pradesh | Mangalayatan University | Private | MBA |
| 114 | Uttar Pradesh | Integral University | Private | MBA |
| 115 | Uttar Pradesh | G.L.A. University | Private | MBA |
| 117 | Uttar Pradesh | University of Lucknow | State | MBA |
| 118 | Uttar Pradesh | Noida International University | Private | MBA |
| 119 | Uttar Pradesh | Chhatrapati Shahu Ji Maharaj University | State | MBA |
| 120 | Uttar Pradesh | Galgotias University | Private | MBA |
| 122 | Uttar Pradesh | Deen Dayal Upadhyay Gorakhpur University | State | MBA |
| 123 | Uttarakhand | Graphic Era | Deemed | MBA |
| 124 | Uttarakhand | Swami Rama Himalayan University | Private | MBA |
| 125 | Uttarakhand | University of Petroleum and Energy Studies | Private | MBA (General); MBA (Oil and Gas); MBA (Logistics and SCM); MBA (Power); MBA (Infrastructure) |
| 126 | Uttarakhand | Uttaranchal University | Private | MBA |
Count for this group: 34 universities (our count).
West and Central India: Gujarat, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh
| Row | State | University (as printed) | Type | MBA programmes listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 17 | Gujarat | Charotar University of Science & Technology | Private | MBA (General) |
| 19 | Gujarat | Karnavati University | Private | MBA |
| 20 | Gujarat | Parul University | Private | MBA |
| 21 | Gujarat | Marwadi University | Private | MBA (General) |
| 22 | Gujarat | Gujarat Technological University | State | MBA (International Business) only |
| 23 | Gujarat | G.L.S. University | Private | MBA (General) |
| 24 | Gujarat | P.P. Savani University | Private | MBA; MBA (Hospital Administration); MBA (International Business); MBA (Logistics & Supply Chain) |
| 55 | Maharashtra | Dr. D.Y. Patil Vidyapeeth (Pune) | Deemed | MBA |
| 56 | Maharashtra | D.Y. Patil (Navi Mumbai) | Deemed | MBA |
| 57 | Maharashtra | Symbiosis International University | Deemed | MBA |
| 58 | Maharashtra | Bharati Vidyapeeth | Deemed | MBA |
| 59 | Maharashtra | Datta Meghe Institute of Higher Education and Research | Deemed | MBA |
| 61 | Maharashtra | Narsee Monjee Institute of Management Studies (NMIMS) | Deemed | MBA; MBA (Working Executive) |
| 62 | Maharashtra | Shivaji University | State | MBA |
| 63 | Maharashtra | Savitribai Phule Pune University | State | MBA |
| 74 | Rajasthan | Manipal University (Jaipur) | Private | MBA |
| 75 | Rajasthan | Vivekananda Global University | Private | MBA; MBA (International Finance) |
| 76 | Rajasthan | Banasthali Vidyapith | Deemed | MBA |
| 77 | Rajasthan | Mody University of Science and Technology | Private | MBA |
| 78 | Rajasthan | Amity University (Rajasthan) | Private | MBA |
| 79 | Rajasthan | Jaipur National University | Private | MBA |
| 53 | Madhya Pradesh | Devi Ahilya Vishwavidyalaya | State | MBA |
| 54 | Madhya Pradesh | SAGE University | Private | MBA (Business Administration); MBA (Banking & Finance); MBA (Core) |
| 7 | Chhattisgarh | Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya | Central | MBA (General) |
| 8 | Chhattisgarh | MATS University | Private | MBA |
| 9 | Chhattisgarh | Pt. Sundarlal Sharma (Open) University | State open | MBA |
Count for this group: 26 universities (our count).
East and North-East India: Assam, Jharkhand, Mizoram, Odisha and Sikkim
| Row | State | University (as printed) | Type | MBA programmes listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 6 | Assam | Assam down town University | Private | MBA |
| 34 | Jharkhand | Birla Institute of Technology | Deemed | MBA |
| 64 | Mizoram | Mizoram University | Central | Six specialised MBAs only, such as Big Data Analytics and Entrepreneurship |
| 65 | Odisha | Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology | Deemed | MBA |
| 66 | Odisha | Centurion University of Technology and Management | Private | MBA |
| 80 | Sikkim | Sikkim Manipal University | Private | MBA |
| 81 | Sikkim | Shri Ramasamy Memorial University | Private | MBA |
Count for this group: 7 universities (our count).
What stands out in the entitled list?
Tamil Nadu leads with 17 universities listing an MBA, followed by Uttar Pradesh with 14 and Karnataka with 12, by our count. Maharashtra has 8, Gujarat 7, and Punjab and Rajasthan 6 each. Jharkhand, Assam, Mizoram and Telangana each have one entitled university with an MBA.
Most rows simply say “Master of Business Administration”, sometimes with “(General)”. A smaller group lists named specialisations as separate programmes. The University of Mysore lists a general MBA and six named variants, Mizoram University lists six specialised MBAs and no plain one, and UPES lists four sector MBAs alongside its general one. REVA University lists six dual-specialisation MBAs and no plain MBA at all.
That detail matters when you apply. If a university’s website advertises an MBA in, say, Digital Marketing, check whether the list shows a separate programme with that name or a general MBA under which the university offers electives. Both can be legitimate, but they are not the same entry, and your degree certificate will carry the programme name.
Which entitled universities list only a specialised MBA?
Six rows list an MBA only in a named field, by our reading: the Indian Institute of Foreign Trade (International Business), Gujarat Technological University (International Business), the University of Calicut (Human Resource Management), JSS Academy of Higher Education and Research (Hospital Administration and Pharmacy Administration), Mizoram University (six fields, from Entrepreneurship to Big Data Analytics) and Visvesvaraya Technological University (Business Analytics, HR/MM/FM and Digital Marketing). REVA University’s six programmes are all dual specialisations. If you want a broad general MBA, these rows may not fit, however strong the institution.
The recognised list: universities with an online MBA
The 2026-27 recognised list has 22 rows, and 19 of them include an MBA, by our count. Unlike the entitled list, each row prints a recognition period, and a few universities have more than one block of programmes with different periods. We read every row from the scanned pages on 3 November 2026.
| Row | State | University (as printed) | Type | MBA programmes listed | Recognition period as printed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Assam | Assam Don Bosco University | Private | MBA | July-August 2025 session to 2029-30 |
| 2 | Delhi | TERI School of Advanced Studies | Deemed | MBA (Sustainability Management) | 2026-27 only (August 2026, up to January 2027) |
| 3 | Gujarat | Ganpat University | Private | MBA (General) | July-August 2025 session to 2029-30 |
| 4 | Gujarat | Silver Oak University | Private | MBA (General); MBA (Marketing), (Human Resources), (Finance) | General from February 2026, specialised from August 2026, both to 2030-31 |
| 5 | Haryana | BML Munjal University | Private | MBA | February 2026 session to 2030-31 |
| 8 | Jharkhand | ARKA JAIN University | Private | MBA (General) | February 2025 session to 2029-30 (up to July-August 2029) |
| 9 | Jharkhand | Usha Martin University | Private | MBA in HRM, Finance Management and Marketing Management | August 2026 session to 2030-31 |
| 10 | Karnataka | Srinivas University | Private | MBA | August 2026 session to 2030-31 |
| 11 | Maharashtra | Sandip University | Private | MBA (Marketing) | February 2026 session to 2030-31 |
| 12 | Maharashtra | Ajeenkya D.Y. Patil University | Private | MBA | August 2026 session to 2030-31 |
| 13 | Maharashtra | ATLAS SkillTech University | Private | MBA | August 2026 session to 2030-31 |
| 14 | Maharashtra | Yashwantrao Chavan Maharashtra Open University | State open | MBA | August 2026 session to 2030-31 |
| 15 | Rajasthan | R.N.B. Global University | Private | MBA (Marketing and Finance, Marketing and HRM) | August 2026 session to 2030-31 |
| 16 | Rajasthan | Jagannath University | Private | MBA (General) | October 2024 session to 2028-29 (up to January 2029) |
| 17 | Tamil Nadu | Academy of Maritime Education and Training | Deemed | MBA (Shipping Logistics Management) | August 2026 and January-February 2027 sessions only |
| 18 | Telangana | Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Open University | Not printed | MBA (General) | August 2026 session to 2030-31 |
| 20 | Uttar Pradesh | Teerthanker Mahaveer University | Private | MBA | February 2025 session to 2029-30 |
| 21 | Uttar Pradesh | Swami Vivekanand Subharti University | Private | MBA (General) | July-August 2025 session to 2029-30 |
| 22 | Uttar Pradesh | Jaypee Institute of Information Technology | Deemed | MBA | August 2026 to February 2027 only |
Three rows on the recognised list do not include an MBA: The NorthCap University (BCom and BBA), Manav Rachna International Institute of Research and Studies (a four-year BA Honours in Economics; its MBA is on the entitled list) and Amity University in Uttar Pradesh (BSW, BCom, BA and MA programmes; its MBA is on the entitled list).
How should you read a recognition period?
Read it as the window of admission sessions the recognition covers. ARKA JAIN University’s MBA (General), for example, is recognised from the session beginning February 2025 “to 2029-30 (upto July-August, 2029 only)”, which we read as admissions up to the July-August 2029 intake. A learner admitted inside that window is covered; a learner admitted after it needs a fresh listing. Where a period says “only”, such as Jaypee Institute of Information Technology’s “August, 2026 to February, 2027 only”, treat it as a short window and ask the university what happens to later intakes.
Which universities share a name but are different institutions?
Several, and this is where most mix-ups happen. A university’s brand can cover more than one legal entity, and each entity has its own row, its own programmes and its own approvals.
| Name you may see in an advert | Separate rows on the 2026-27 lists | What to check |
|---|---|---|
| Amity | Amity University (Uttar Pradesh), entitled row 108; Amity University (Rajasthan), entitled row 78; Amity University UP also has a recognised row without an MBA | Which Amity awards your degree, and its state |
| Manipal | Manipal Academy of Higher Education (Karnataka), row 37; Manipal University (Jaipur), row 74; Sikkim Manipal University, row 80 | The name on the admission form and the fee receipt |
| D.Y. Patil | Dr. D.Y. Patil Vidyapeeth (Pune), row 55; D.Y. Patil (Navi Mumbai), row 56; Ajeenkya D.Y. Patil University, recognised row 12 | Which of the three you are paying |
| Dr. B.R. Ambedkar | Dr. B.R. Ambedkar University, Uttar Pradesh, entitled row 111; Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Open University, Telangana, recognised row 18 | State and whether “Open” is in the name |
| Jain | Jain (Deemed-to-be University), Karnataka, entitled row 35; ARKA JAIN University, Jharkhand, recognised row 8 | They are unrelated listings in different states |
The same caution applies to rankings. When NIRF places “Manipal” third among universities, that is Manipal Academy of Higher Education, not the two Manipal universities that run the Online Manipal MBAs. Our explainer on online MBA rankings covers how to match a ranked name to the right institution.
How do you compare online MBA universities?
Compare them on six things, in this order: UGC-DEB status for your session, the NAAC grade the university states, its NIRF University rank, the total fee, the specialisations it actually offers, and how exams are held. The table below does this for the partner universities we work with, using the official sources noted under it.
| University | UGC-DEB 2026-27 MBA status | NAAC grade as the university states it | NIRF 2025 University rank | Two-year fee at list price | Specialisations | Exam mode as stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amity University (Uttar Pradesh) | Entitled, row 108 | Not stated on the online MBA page we checked | 22 | ₹2,25,000; ₹2,07,000 one-time | 14, with a dual option | Remote proctored |
| Manipal University Jaipur | Entitled, row 74 | A+ | 58 | ₹1,84,000 | 13 electives | Computer based, online proctored |
| Sikkim Manipal University | Entitled, row 80 | A+ | Not found in the 2025 tables we checked | ₹1,20,000 | Dual, from 6 areas | Computer based, online proctored |
| Lovely Professional University | Entitled, row 69 | A++ | 31 | About ₹2,00,000 (our calculation from ₹50,000 a semester) | 12 | “Flexible Online Exams” |
| Chandigarh University | Entitled, row 67 | A+ | 19 | ₹2,20,000 | 26 | “On Demand Examination” |
| NMIMS | Entitled, row 61 (MBA and MBA Working Executive) | A++ | 52 | ₹2,20,000 semester-wise; ₹1,96,000 one-time | 7 (standard MBA) | Internal assessment plus term-end exam; method not stated |
| UPES | Entitled, row 125 | A | 45 | From ₹1,75,000, varies by specialisation | 11 | Term-end windows listed; format not stated |
| GLA University | Entitled, row 115 | A+ | Not found in the 2025 tables we checked | ₹97,000 tuition | Page lists 10 electives under a heading that says 8 | Not stated on the page |
| ARKA JAIN University | Recognised, row 8, MBA (General) | A | Not found in the 2025 tables we checked | About ₹1,00,000 (our calculation from ₹25,000 a semester) | 7 | Online proctored |
Sources: UGC-DEB 2026-27 entitled and recognised lists (read 3 November 2026); NIRF 2025 University ranking on nirfindia.org, still the latest edition when we last checked on 27 October 2026; fees, NAAC wording, specialisations and exam formats from each university’s official online MBA page, checked between 21 and 26 October 2026, and GLA University’s page checked on 3 November 2026. Our online MBA fees comparison breaks down every fee line, including application, exam and seat booking charges.
What each comparison column really tells you
UGC-DEB status is the only column that decides whether the degree is valid. Everything else is about quality and fit.
The NAAC grade describes the university as a whole, not its online MBA, and grades come with an expiry. We quote each grade as the university states it on its own page, because the NAAC website did not pass a secure connection check when we tried it. Our explainer on the accredited online MBA covers what each grade means.
The NIRF rank is a ranking of institutions, mostly built on campus teaching, research and placements. Use the NIRF 2025 University ranking as a signal of institutional standing, not as a score for the online programme.
Fees move. Several of the prices above had limited-period offers attached when we checked, and those offers had end dates in October 2026, so we show list prices only. Exam mode matters more than people expect. If you travel for work, a computer-based exam you can take from home with a webcam is very different from an exam with fixed slots.
Profiles: the partner universities on the list
Each profile below gives the listing, the official programme page and our university page where we have one. Fees and features are as checked on the dates given above.
Amity University (Uttar Pradesh)
Amity University in Uttar Pradesh is on the entitled list at row 108 with an MBA, alongside BBA, BCA, MCA and several MA and MCom programmes. Its online MBA lists 14 specialisations with a dual option, and the official Amity online MBA page shows ₹2,25,000 at list price or ₹2,07,000 paid at once. NIRF 2025 places Amity, listed under Gautam Budh Nagar, 22nd among universities. Remember that Amity University Rajasthan is a separate entitled row. See our Amity University Online page for programme details.
Manipal University Jaipur
Manipal University Jaipur appears at row 74, printed as “Manipal University” under Rajasthan, with an MBA among nine programmes. It states a NAAC A+ grade and was 58th in the NIRF 2025 University table. The fee on MUJ’s official online MBA page, published through Online Manipal, was ₹46,000 a semester, ₹1,84,000 in total, with 13 electives and computer-based, online proctored exams. Our Manipal University Jaipur page has more.
Sikkim Manipal University
Sikkim Manipal University is at row 80 with an MBA. It is the lowest-priced entitled university among our partners at ₹30,000 a semester, ₹1,20,000 in total, according to SMU’s official online MBA page on Online Manipal. It offers a dual specialisation drawn from six areas and states a NAAC A+ grade. We did not find it in the NIRF 2025 University, Management or Overall tables, which shows how NAAC alone can carry a university onto the entitled list. Details are on our Sikkim Manipal University page.
Lovely Professional University
LPU is at row 69, with 13 online programmes including the MBA. It states a NAAC A++ grade with a score of 3.68 and ranked 31st among universities in NIRF 2025. The LPU online MBA page shows ₹50,000 a semester including a ₹2,000 exam fee, about ₹2,00,000 over four semesters by our calculation, and 12 specialisations. Our LPU Online page covers the rest.
Chandigarh University
Chandigarh University is at row 67 with an MBA among ten programmes. It ranked 19th among universities in NIRF 2025, the highest of our partners, and states a NAAC A+ grade. The CU online MBA page listed ₹2,20,000 for the programme and a ₹10,000 seat booking amount, with 26 specialisations and what it calls “On Demand Examination”.
NMIMS
NMIMS, printed as Narsee Monjee Institute of Management Studies, is at row 61 with four programmes: BBA, BCom, MBA and MBA (Working Executive). It is the only partner with an experience-based MBA on the list. The standard NMIMS online MBA page showed ₹55,000 a semester or ₹1,96,000 one-time, and NMIMS ranked 52nd among universities and 24th in Management in NIRF 2025. If the working-executive route interests you, our guide to the online executive MBA explains how it differs.
UPES
UPES, printed as University of Petroleum and Energy Studies under Uttarakhand, is at row 125. Its row lists a general MBA and four sector MBAs: Oil and Gas Management, Logistics and Supply Chain Management, Power Management and Infrastructure Management. The UPES online MBA page says fees start at ₹1,75,000 and vary by specialisation. UPES states a NAAC A grade and ranked 45th among universities in NIRF 2025.
GLA University
GLA University is printed as “G.L.A. University” at row 115 under Uttar Pradesh, with five programmes: BCA, BCom (Hons.), BBA, MBA and MCA. The GLA online MBA page, checked on 3 November 2026, showed ₹24,250 a semester, ₹97,000 in tuition, a ₹2,000 registration fee and ₹1,500 per semester in exam fees, and it states a NAAC A+ grade. The same page shows a different “all inclusive” figure at the top and gives two different specialisation counts, so ask GLA for the fee schedule and elective list in writing. Our GLA University page has the overview.
ARKA JAIN University
ARKA JAIN University is on the recognised list, not the entitled list, at row 8. Its MBA (General) and BBA are recognised from the February 2025 session to 2029-30, up to the July-August 2029 intake. The ARKA JAIN online MBA page showed ₹25,000 a semester, a ₹2,500 registration fee and ₹3,000 a year in exam fees, with seven specialisations and online proctored exams. It states a NAAC A grade from its first cycle. See our ARKA JAIN University page.
How do you shortlist from 124 universities?
Start with your session and your programme, then narrow by fit. A list of 124 names is only useful once you cut it down to three or four.
- Fix your intake. Decide whether you are joining the July-August 2026 or January-February 2027 session, or later, and use the list for that session.
- Find the exact programme. Open the PDF, go to the university’s row and confirm the MBA name matches what you are buying, including any specialisation in brackets.
- Check the period. For recognised universities, make sure your intake falls inside the printed recognition period.
- Match the specialisation. Remove universities that do not offer the area you need, either as a listed programme or as a stated elective.
- Compare total cost. Add registration, exam and resit fees, not just tuition.
- Test the exam format. Confirm you can meet the proctoring requirements from where you live and work.
- Then look at standing. Use NAAC and NIRF as tie-breakers between programmes that pass the first six checks.
When you are ready, our step-by-step guide to online MBA admission covers documents, the DEB-ID that UGC requires from every online learner, and deadlines.
Searching the PDF when copy and search fail
Because the lists are scanned, your PDF reader’s search box may not find a university even when it is there. The watermark and the column layout break up the text. Scroll instead: the entitled list is sorted alphabetically by state, so jump to your state’s pages and read the “HEI Name” column. If you still cannot find a university, that is a reason to ask it directly for its row number, not a reason to assume it is listed.
Red flags when a university claims to be on the list
Most problems come from small gaps between what is advertised and what the list says. These are the ones we see most often.
| What you see | Why it is a red flag | What to do |
|---|---|---|
| “UGC approved” with no row number or list date | Listings are session-wise; a general claim can be out of date | Ask for the row number on the 2026-27 list |
| A specialised MBA name that is not in the row | The list may show only a general MBA, or a different specialisation | Compare the exact programme name with the PDF |
| A recognised university admitting outside its printed period | Recognition covers named sessions only | Check the first and last session in the row |
| A sister institution’s listing used in the advert | Brands like Amity, Manipal and D.Y. Patil cover separate universities | Match the name and state on your admission form |
| An NIRF or NAAC badge offered as proof of approval | Ranks and grades are not programme permissions | Ask for the UGC-DEB row instead |
| A one-year online MBA | The 2014 Specification of Degrees sets a minimum of two years for an MBA | Read our one year online MBA guide before paying |
| Admission routed through a third party that runs the programme | Regulation 3(C)(vi) bars franchising online programmes to private service providers | Pay the university and get its receipt |
Universities on the entitled list with no MBA
Twenty-one universities on the 2026-27 entitled list have no MBA in their row, by our count. They are Jawaharlal Nehru University, Central Sanskrit University, Guru Gobind Singh Indraprastha Vishwavidyalaya, Gujarat University, Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Open University, Maharshi Dayanand University, the University of Jammu, Bangalore University, Sri Siddhartha Academy of Higher Education, Christ (Deemed to be University), the University of Mumbai, Bharath Institute of Higher Education and Research, Madurai Kamaraj University, the University of Madras, Meenakshi Academy of Higher Education and Research, Sri Ramachandra Institute of Higher Education and Research, Saveetha Institute of Medical and Technical Sciences, the International Institute of Information Technology in Telangana, Dayal Bagh Educational Institute, Mahatma Jyotiba Phule Rohilkhand University and Thapar Institute of Engineering and Technology. Most of them list arts, commerce, science or computer applications programmes instead. If you see an online MBA advertised by one of these for 2026-27, ask which list carries it before you go further.
If a university you are considering is not in any of the tables above, an adviser can check the latest notices with you. Talk to an admission advisor and bring the university name and the programme you were offered.
How GetOnlineDegree.in Helps
We list online MBA programmes from universities on the UGC-DEB lists and compare them on facts we can source: the list row, the fee published by the university, eligibility, specialisations and exam format. When a detail changes or an offer expires, we update the page rather than keep an old figure. Our advisers can walk you through the PDFs row by row, explain the difference between an entitled and a recognised listing for your intake, and help you compare two or three universities side by side. We do not publish rankings of our own, and we do not promise placements.
Conclusion
The question “which Indian universities offer an online MBA” has an official, checkable answer. For 2026-27 it is 105 universities on the entitled list and 19 on the recognised list, 124 in all by our count, spread across 21 states and union territories on the entitled list alone. The list does not rank them, and it does not tell you which one suits you.
Use it as a filter first. Confirm the row, the exact programme name and, for recognised universities, the period that covers your intake. Then compare what is left on fee, specialisation, exam format, NAAC and NIRF. Do that, and a long list turns into a short, safe shortlist.
FAQs
How many universities offer an online MBA in India in 2026-27?
By our count, 124. The UGC-DEB entitled list for 2026-27 names 126 universities, and 105 of them list an MBA. The recognised list adds 19 more universities with an MBA. Both lists were published on 22 September 2026. Counts change between sessions, so check the current list on deb.ugc.ac.in for your intake.
Which states have the most online MBA universities?
On the 2026-27 entitled list, Tamil Nadu has the most universities listing an MBA with 17, followed by Uttar Pradesh with 14 and Karnataka with 12, by our count. On the recognised list, Maharashtra has the most with four. Location does not limit online admission, so you can enrol with a university in any state.
Is an online MBA from a recognised university as valid as one from an entitled university?
Yes, when your programme is listed and your intake falls within the printed recognition period. Regulation 22 of the UGC 2020 regulations treats online degrees from recognised institutions as equivalent to conventional degrees. The difference is in how the university qualified, and recognised rows carry a time window that you must check.
Is IIM or IIT on the list for an online MBA?
We did not find any Indian Institute of Management or Indian Institute of Technology on the 2026-27 entitled or recognised lists. Many IIMs run executive programmes and certificates online, which are different products. If a programme from a top institution interests you, ask whether it is a degree and which UGC-DEB row covers it.
Why can I not find a university by searching the PDF?
The UGC-DEB lists are scanned images with a diagonal watermark, so the text layer is broken and search often misses names. Scroll to the state section instead, since the lists are sorted by state, and read the university name column. If the university is still missing, ask it for the exact row number.