🚨 Admissions Filling Up Fast! Limited Seats Available for the Upcoming Batch.

Online MBA Fees in India 2026: What Eight Universities Really Charge

Official online MBA fees for Amity, Manipal, LPU, CU, NMIMS, UPES and ARKA JAIN, with extra charges, EMI, scholarships and how to work out your real total.
Free counsellingStep 1 of 3

Find the Right Online Degree for You

Get free, personalized guidance on universities, fees, EMI options and eligibility.


Quick Answer

Online MBA fees in India at the eight universities we checked range from about ₹1 lakh to ₹2.25 lakh for a standard two-year programme, before any discount. ARKA JAIN University sits at the lower end and Amity Online at the upper end. NMIMS’s MBA for working executives costs ₹4.5 lakh. Most universities also charge application, registration or exam fees on top of tuition.

Key Highlights

  • The lowest tuition in our comparison is ARKA JAIN University at ₹25,000 per semester, which is about ₹1 lakh over four semesters by our calculation. It is UGC-DEB recognised for its MBA rather than entitled.
  • Among universities on the UGC-DEB entitled list for 2026-27, Sikkim Manipal University has the lowest list price at ₹1,20,000.
  • Amity Online has the highest standard list price here at ₹2,25,000, or ₹2,07,000 if you pay in one go.
  • Small charges add up. Application fees, exam fees per subject and resit charges can change your real total by several thousand rupees.
  • Several universities run time-bound discounts and grants, so the price you see in an advert may not be the price you pay a month later.

Introduction

Fees are usually the second question I hear from working professionals looking at an online MBA. The first is whether the degree is valid. Both questions deserve proper answers, and the fee question is harder than it looks. Each university publishes its fees differently: some per semester, some per year, some as a one-time amount with a discount. Some print the total, some leave you to multiply. Offers appear and disappear within weeks.

This guide puts the official numbers side by side, as published by each university on 21 October 2026. It explains what is included and what is not, and shows you how to work out what you will actually pay. If you are still deciding whether an online MBA suits your work schedule, our online MBA programmes page lists eligibility and programme details for each university.

How much does an online MBA cost in India?

For the seven standard online MBA programmes in this comparison, list prices run from about ₹1 lakh to ₹2.25 lakh for the full two years. Add a ₹4.5 lakh executive programme at NMIMS and the spread gets wider still.

That range is narrower than many people expect. Most of the universities below sit between ₹1.2 lakh and ₹2.25 lakh. The difference between the cheapest and the most expensive standard programme is roughly ₹1.25 lakh. That is real money, but it is a narrower spread than most people assume before they start comparing.

We are deliberately not quoting an “average online MBA cost”. No official national dataset of online MBA fees exists. An average of a handful of universities would mostly reflect which universities we happened to include, and could mislead you about what to budget.

Online MBA fee comparison: official figures for 2026

Here is the full comparison. Every figure comes from the university’s own online MBA page, checked on 21 October 2026. Rows are ordered by list price, starting with the lowest. Where a university does not print a total, we multiplied the semester fee by four semesters and labelled the figure as our calculation.

University (degree awarded by)UGC-DEB status 2026-27Fee per semesterTotal programme fee (list)Offer or pay-in-full price at the time of our checkOther charges statedOfficial page
ARKA JAIN UniversityRecognised (MBA General)₹25,000About ₹1,00,000 (our calculation)Not statedRegistration ₹2,500; exam fee ₹3,000 per yearARKA JAIN online MBA
Sikkim Manipal UniversityEntitled₹30,000₹1,20,00010% limited-period offer: ₹1,08,000 (dated to 22 October 2026)Application ₹500; resits and similar charges extraSMU online MBA (onlinemanipal.com)
UPESEntitledNot publishedStarting at ₹1,75,000; varies by specializationNot statedLate re-registration ₹1,000UPES online MBA
Manipal University JaipurEntitled₹46,000₹1,84,00015% limited-period offer: ₹1,56,400 (dated to 22 October 2026)Application ₹500; resits and revaluation extraMUJ online MBA
NMIMS (CDOE) MBAEntitled₹55,000₹2,20,000 semester-wise; ₹1,05,000 per year on the annual plan₹1,96,000 one-timeAdmission processing ₹1,200; exam ₹800 per subject per attempt; project ₹800NMIMS online MBA
Lovely Professional UniversityEntitled₹50,000 (includes ₹2,000 exam fee)About ₹2,00,000 (our calculation)20% Student Grant: ₹40,400 per semester (valid to 24 October 2026)Registration ₹1,000, non-refundableLPU online MBA
Chandigarh UniversityEntitledNot stated₹2,20,00025% Early Bird scholarship had already closed on 14 OctoberSeat booking ₹10,000CU online MBA
Amity University Uttar PradeshEntitled₹56,300₹2,25,000₹2,07,000 one-time; ₹1,06,880 per year on the annual planNone listed on the pageAmity online MBA
NMIMS (CDOE) MBA for Working ExecutivesEntitledYear 1 ₹2,50,000; Year 2 ₹2,00,000₹4,50,000₹4,00,000 one-timeAdmission processing ₹1,500; seat reservation ₹40,000NMIMS MBA (WX)

Fees verified on 21 October 2026. UGC-DEB status is taken from the 2026-27 list of entitled institutions and the 2026-27 list of recognised institutions.

A quick note on that status column. “Entitled” and “recognised” are both legitimate routes under the UGC’s online programme regulations. Entitled universities meet a higher quality bar and can launch online programmes without prior approval. Recognised universities need approval for each programme. What matters for you is that the exact programme appears against the university for the session you join. The UGC-DEB 2026-27 entitled list is where you confirm it.

University-wise breakdown of online MBA fees

The table gives you the headline. The detail below is where the real decisions sit, because payment plans and small print differ quite a bit.

Amity Online MBA fees

Amity lists its online MBA at ₹56,300 per semester, which adds up to the published programme fee of ₹2,25,000. If you choose the annual plan, the page shows ₹1,06,880 per year. If you pay the whole amount at once, the price drops to ₹2,07,000.

So the gap between paying semester by semester and paying upfront is ₹18,000. That is a meaningful saving, but only if you have the cash and are confident you will complete the programme. Amity also lists a 24-month no-cost EMI of ₹8,906 per month. The page we checked did not list a separate registration or exam fee.

Manipal University Jaipur online MBA fees

MUJ charges ₹46,000 per semester, for a total of ₹1,84,000 over four semesters. At the time of our check on 21 October 2026, the page showed a 15% limited-period discount, which brought the total to ₹1,56,400. That offer was dated to 22 October 2026, so expect a different figure if you are reading this later.

You also pay an application fee of ₹500. The page says resit and revaluation charges are extra. Manipal lists a scholarship of up to 20%, subject to its own eligibility conditions. No-cost EMI is available from the university’s lending partners.

Sikkim Manipal University online MBA fees

SMU is the lowest-priced entitled university in this comparison. The fee is ₹30,000 per semester, or ₹1,20,000 in total. At the time of our check there was a 10% limited-period discount, bringing the total to ₹1,08,000, again dated to 22 October 2026.

The application fee is ₹500, and resits are charged separately. SMU also lists scholarships of up to 30%, which is the highest scholarship ceiling we found among these universities. Do read the conditions, because “up to” means the full percentage only applies to students who meet specific criteria.

LPU online MBA fees

LPU Online publishes a semester fee rather than a total. The actual fee is ₹50,000 per semester, and it includes a ₹2,000 exam fee, which is helpful because it means fewer surprises later. Four semesters at ₹50,000 comes to about ₹2,00,000 by our calculation.

At the time of our check, LPU was offering a 20% Student Grant that reduced the semester fee to ₹40,400, valid until 24 October 2026. A non-refundable registration fee of ₹1,000 applies. If you are comparing LPU with others, compare the full-price figure first and treat the grant as a bonus if it is still running when you apply.

Chandigarh University online MBA fees

CU lists the total fee at ₹2,20,000. When we checked on 21 October 2026, the 25% Early Bird scholarship, which would have brought the total to ₹1,65,000, had already closed on 14 October. So the current price is the full ₹2,20,000 unless a new offer opens.

There is also a seat booking amount of ₹10,000. The page did not make clear whether this is adjusted against tuition or charged on top, so ask the admissions team before you pay it.

NMIMS online MBA fees

NMIMS gives you three ways to pay for its standard online MBA. Semester-wise, it is ₹55,000 per semester, or ₹2,20,000 over two years. Annually, it is ₹1,05,000 per year. As a one-time payment, it is ₹1,96,000.

The extras are spelled out clearly. There is an admission processing fee of ₹1,200. Exams cost ₹800 per subject per attempt, and the project costs ₹800. That per-subject exam fee is worth noticing, because it scales with the number of subjects and with any re-attempts. NMIMS does not list EMI on its page and refers to finance options instead. It does offer a 20% discount for armed and paramilitary forces personnel and their dependents.

NMIMS MBA for Working Executives fees

This is a different programme, so treat it separately. The NMIMS MBA (WX) is designed for people with at least three years of work experience. It costs ₹2,50,000 in the first year and ₹2,00,000 in the second, for a total of ₹4,50,000. A one-time payment brings it to ₹4,00,000.

You also pay an admission processing fee of ₹1,500 and a seat reservation amount of ₹40,000. If you are comparing this with a standard online MBA purely on price, you are comparing two different products. The eligibility, design and intended audience are not the same.

UPES online MBA fees

UPES does not publish a single fee for its online MBA. The official page says fees start at ₹1,75,000 and vary by specialization. UPES offers sector-focused options such as Oil and Gas, Power, Logistics and Supply Chain, and Infrastructure, which may explain the variation.

EMI is mentioned with terms and conditions, and the payment procedure page lists a ₹1,000 charge for late re-registration. If UPES is on your shortlist, ask for the exact fee schedule for your chosen specialization in writing.

ARKA JAIN University online MBA fees

ARKA JAIN University charges ₹25,000 per semester, which works out to about ₹1,00,000 in tuition over four semesters by our calculation. On top of that, there is a registration fee of ₹2,500 and an exam fee of ₹3,000 per year.

Add those together and the total comes to about ₹1,08,500, again by our calculation. That still makes it the lowest-priced programme in this comparison. ARKA JAIN is on the UGC-DEB recognised list for 2026-27 for its MBA (General) and BBA, with recognition running from the February 2025 session to July-August 2029. It is not on the entitled list. The page we checked did not mention EMI or scholarships.

What do online MBA fees include, and what costs extra?

Tuition is always listed. The extras vary widely, and that is where most budgeting mistakes happen.

Cost componentWhat the official pages showed
Tuition or programme feeListed by every university, per semester, per year or one-time
Application or registration₹500 at MUJ and SMU; ₹1,000 at LPU; ₹1,200 admission processing at NMIMS; ₹2,500 at ARKA JAIN
Examination feesIncluded in LPU’s semester fee (₹2,000); separate at NMIMS (₹800 per subject per attempt) and ARKA JAIN (₹3,000 per year)
Resits and revaluationCharged separately where mentioned, for example at MUJ and SMU
Seat booking or reservation₹10,000 at CU; ₹40,000 for the NMIMS MBA (WX)
Project fee₹800 at NMIMS

A few things are worth checking that the fee pages generally do not cover. Ask whether GST applies to any component. None of the official pages we checked stated GST treatment, so do not assume either way. Ask whether study material, including any printed books, is included or optional. Ask whether there is a charge for the degree certificate, transcripts or convocation. The answers will differ by university, and only the university can tell you.

Can you pay online MBA fees in EMI?

Yes, at most of the universities here. Amity lists a 24-month no-cost EMI of ₹8,906 per month. Manipal (both MUJ and SMU), LPU, CU and UPES mention EMI or no-cost EMI. NMIMS refers to finance options rather than EMI, and ARKA JAIN’s page did not mention EMI at all.

“No-cost EMI” sounds simple, but it is usually a loan from a finance partner. The interest is typically adjusted through a discount, so you do not pay more than the fee. Even so, a loan is a loan. Before you sign, ask:

  1. Who is the lender, and is there a processing fee?
  2. Does the EMI need a credit check, and will it appear on your credit report?
  3. What happens if you miss a payment, or if you pause your studies?
  4. If you withdraw from the programme, do you still owe the remaining instalments to the lender?

That last question matters most. A refund from the university and the closure of a loan with a lender are two separate processes.

Are there scholarships for online MBA programmes?

Several universities offer them, but the amounts and conditions vary. Here is what we found at the time of our check on 21 October 2026.

UniversityScholarship or discount stated
Sikkim Manipal UniversityScholarship up to 30%, subject to eligibility conditions
Manipal University JaipurManipal Scholarship up to 20%
LPU20% Student Grant, valid to 24 October 2026
Chandigarh University25% Early Bird scholarship, closed on 14 October 2026
NMIMS20% discount for armed and paramilitary forces personnel and dependents
Amity, UPES, ARKA JAINNo scholarship stated on the online MBA page we checked

Two pieces of advice here. First, separate a scholarship from a discount. A scholarship usually depends on criteria such as academic record, category or profession. A limited-period discount usually applies to anyone who pays before a deadline. Second, never let a deadline rush you. A discount ending this week is not a reason to skip checking the programme’s UGC-DEB status or reading the refund policy.

How do you calculate the real total cost of an online MBA?

Start with the full list price, add every fixed charge, then estimate the variable ones honestly. Subtract a discount only if it will definitely still apply when you pay.

Here is a worked example using NMIMS, because its extras are clearly published. Suppose you choose the semester-wise plan.

  • Tuition: ₹55,000 x 4 semesters = ₹2,20,000
  • Admission processing: ₹1,200
  • Project: ₹800
  • Exams: ₹800 per subject per attempt

The exam line depends on how many subjects your programme has. If you multiply ₹800 by the number of subjects in the curriculum, you get your exam cost assuming you pass every paper on the first attempt. Each re-attempt adds another ₹800. So your real total is ₹2,22,000 plus your exam fees, by our calculation. Compare that with the one-time option of ₹1,96,000 plus the same exam fees, and the saving from paying upfront is ₹24,000 on tuition.

Now a simpler one, ARKA JAIN University:

  • Tuition: ₹25,000 x 4 semesters = ₹1,00,000
  • Registration: ₹2,500
  • Exam fee: ₹3,000 x 2 years = ₹6,000
  • Total by our calculation: about ₹1,08,500

And one more, LPU at full price:

  • Tuition including exam fee: ₹50,000 x 4 semesters = ₹2,00,000
  • Registration: ₹1,000
  • Total by our calculation: about ₹2,01,000

If the 20% Student Grant were still running when you applied, the semester fee would be ₹40,400. That gives about ₹1,61,600 in tuition plus the ₹1,000 registration. But that only holds if the grant applies to all four semesters. Ask whether the grant is for the first semester only or for the whole programme. This is exactly the kind of detail that changes your budget.

You can use the same method for any university:

  1. Take the full-price tuition for all semesters.
  2. Add application, registration and processing fees.
  3. Add exam fees, project fees and any seat booking that is not adjusted against tuition.
  4. Add an allowance for one or two resits if the university charges for them.
  5. Only then subtract a discount or scholarship, and only if it is confirmed in writing for your admission.

Why do online MBA fees differ so much between universities?

The honest answer is that each university sets its own price, and the official fee pages do not explain how. We would rather tell you that than guess.

What we can tell you is how to read the differences. A higher fee does not automatically mean a better programme, and a lower fee does not automatically mean a weaker one. Look past the price to these points.

Recognition for your session. Is the university and its MBA on the UGC-DEB list for the session you will join? Recognition is granted session by session, so last year’s listing is not enough.

Eligibility. Minimum marks in graduation range from 40% at Amity to 50% at Manipal, NMIMS, UPES and ARKA JAIN, with relaxation for reserved categories at several of them. The NMIMS MBA (WX) needs three or more years of work experience. A programme you are not eligible for is not an option at any price.

Specializations. The number on offer varies a lot. Chandigarh University lists 26 specializations, Amity 14, MUJ 13 electives and UPES 11. SMU offers a dual specialization from six areas. If you want a specific area such as business analytics or healthcare management, check that it is offered before comparing fees. Our guide to MBA finance online does this check for the finance track.

Exam format. Some universities state online proctored exams that you can take from home, while others describe their format differently. If you travel for work, this matters as much as the fee.

Total cost, not headline cost. As the worked examples show, two programmes with similar semester fees can end up several thousand rupees apart once extras are added.

Which online MBA has the lowest fees?

In this comparison, ARKA JAIN University has the lowest tuition at ₹25,000 per semester, about ₹1 lakh in total by our calculation. Among universities on the UGC-DEB entitled list, Sikkim Manipal University is the lowest at ₹1,20,000 list price.

Both are legitimate options for the programmes listed against them. The difference is the regulatory route. ARKA JAIN is recognised for its MBA, while SMU is entitled. For most students, the practical question is simply whether the programme appears on the official list for their session, and both did for 2026-27.

If affordability is your main concern, compare these two with UPES (from ₹1,75,000) and MUJ (₹1,84,000 list price). Then weigh what each one offers in specializations, exam format and support against the price difference.

Is it worth paying more for an online MBA?

It can be, but only for reasons you can name. Paying more makes sense if the costlier programme offers a specialization you need, an exam format that fits your work, or eligibility that fits your profile. It does not make sense if the only reason is a brand impression you cannot back up with specifics.

Think about it this way. The difference between the lowest and highest standard programmes here is about ₹1.25 lakh. Ask yourself what that money buys you in concrete terms. If you can list three things, such as a specialization unavailable elsewhere, a payment plan that suits your cash flow, or a schedule that fits your shifts, the higher fee may be justified. If you cannot, the lower-priced option deserves a serious look.

Questions to ask before you pay any online MBA fee

A ten-minute conversation with the admissions team can save you a lot of trouble. These are the questions we suggest you ask, and ideally get answered in writing.

  1. What is the full fee for all four semesters, including every one-time and recurring charge?
  2. Is the current discount or grant for all semesters, or only the first?
  3. What is the exam fee, and what does a resit cost?
  4. Is the seat booking or reservation amount adjusted against tuition?
  5. Does GST apply to any part of the fee?
  6. Which UGC-DEB list includes this exact programme for my admission session, and can you show me the page?
  7. What is your refund policy if I withdraw before classes start, during the first semester, or later?
  8. If I pay through EMI and withdraw, what happens to the loan?
  9. Is there any charge for the degree certificate, transcripts or convocation?
  10. Can fees change after I enrol? NMIMS, for example, states that fees are subject to change at the university’s discretion.

The refund question deserves extra attention. Refund policies differ between universities and can depend on timing, so read the official policy document rather than relying on a sales conversation. If the answer is vague, ask for the written policy before you pay anything beyond the application fee.

What online MBA fees do not tell you

A fee table is a good starting point, but it says nothing about several things you will care about once classes begin. It does not tell you how many live sessions you get each week, or when they are scheduled. It does not tell you how quickly faculty respond to questions, or what career support the university provides to online students specifically. It does not tell you how easy it is to pause your studies if work gets heavy.

Some of these are partly answered elsewhere. SMU, for instance, allows up to four years to complete its two-year MBA, and NMIMS states a four-year validity period. That flexibility can matter more than a few thousand rupees in fees if your job has busy seasons.

The best approach is to shortlist on recognition, eligibility and specialization first. Then use fees to choose between programmes that already fit you. Doing it the other way round, starting with the cheapest and working up, is how people end up in programmes that do not suit them.

If you would like to see these programmes side by side with their specializations and eligibility, our online MBA comparison page lists them together, and you can explore each university’s full profile on our partner universities page. When you are ready, you can speak to an admission advisor who will share the current official fee schedule for your shortlist.

How GetOnlineDegree.in Helps

GetOnlineDegree.in brings online degree options from several universities into one place, so you do not have to open eight tabs to compare them. For the online MBA, that means you can see the universities, their specializations and their programme details together on one page.

Our role is guidance, not pressure. When you get in touch, an admission advisor can talk you through eligibility, help you narrow your shortlist and point you to each university’s official fee page. Fees change often, so we always recommend confirming the final figure with the university before you pay. We also suggest you check the programme’s UGC-DEB listing for your session yourself. Start with the UGC-DEB 2026-27 entitled list.

Conclusion

Online MBA fees in India are more predictable than they first appear. Most standard programmes at these universities fall between about ₹1 lakh and ₹2.25 lakh for two years. The NMIMS executive programme sits well above that at ₹4.5 lakh. The headline number is only part of the story, though. Application fees, exam fees, seat booking amounts and the fine print on discounts can all shift what you actually pay.

Work out the full cost using the steps above, confirm any discount in writing, and read the refund policy before paying. Most importantly, choose a programme that fits your eligibility, career plans and schedule first. Then let the fee decide between options that already work for you.

FAQs

What is the fee for an online MBA in India?

At the eight universities we compared on 21 October 2026, standard online MBA list prices range from about ₹1 lakh at ARKA JAIN University to ₹2.25 lakh at Amity Online for two years. NMIMS’s MBA for Working Executives costs ₹4.5 lakh. Most universities add application, registration or exam fees, so your real total will be slightly higher than the tuition figure.

Which UGC-entitled online MBA has the lowest fees?

In our comparison, Sikkim Manipal University has the lowest list price among entitled universities at ₹1,20,000 for the full programme. At the time of our check on 21 October 2026, a limited-period offer reduced this to ₹1,08,000. ARKA JAIN University is cheaper but is on the UGC-DEB recognised list rather than the entitled list.

Do online MBA fees include exam fees?

It depends on the university. LPU’s ₹50,000 semester fee includes a ₹2,000 exam fee. NMIMS charges ₹800 per subject per attempt, plus ₹800 for the project. ARKA JAIN charges ₹3,000 per year. Always ask for the exam fee and the resit fee before you enrol.

Can I pay online MBA fees in instalments or EMI?

Yes. Most universities here accept semester-wise or annual payments, and several offer EMI through lending partners. Amity, for example, lists a 24-month no-cost EMI of ₹8,906 per month. Check the lender’s terms, any processing fee, and what happens to the loan if you leave the programme.

Is a more expensive online MBA better?

Not automatically. Price reflects each university’s own decisions and is not a quality score. Compare UGC-DEB status for your session, eligibility, specializations, exam format and total cost first. Pay more only when you can name what the higher fee gives you, such as a specialization you need or an exam format that fits your work.

Written by
Picture of Manoj Kumar

Manoj Kumar

Keep reading

More guides to help you decide

Free Counselling

Find the Right Online Degree for Where You Want to Go

Tell us your qualification and your goal. A Marvell counsellor will come back with the UGC-entitled universities that actually fit – the right programme at the right level, with current fees, EMI options and the next batch date.

  • UGC-entitled universities that fit your goal
  • The right programme at the right level
  • Current fees, EMI options and the next batch date