Quick Answer
Online BCA course fees at the six universities we checked range from about ₹1.05 lakh to ₹1.77 lakh for the full three-year programme, before discounts. ARKA JAIN University is at the lower end and Chandigarh University at the upper end, with Amity’s FinTech and AI track costing more at ₹2.75 lakh. Registration, exam and resit charges can add a few thousand rupees on top.
Key Highlights
- Among universities on the UGC-DEB entitled list for BCA in 2026-27, Manipal University Jaipur has the lowest list price at ₹1,44,000, or ₹1,29,600 if you pay the full fee upfront.
- How you pay changes the price. Amity’s standard online BCA costs ₹1,75,000 semester by semester but ₹1,54,000 as a one-time payment.
- Maths in Class 12 is not a universal rule. UPES asks for Maths, Computer Science or IT in Class 12 (or a short bridge course), while Chandigarh University accepts any stream.
- Sikkim Manipal University and NMIMS do not list an online BCA on the 2026-27 entitled list, and ARKA JAIN’s BCA is on the 2026-27 recognised list (not the entitled list) from the July-August 2025 session to January 2030.
- Several prices you see today are tied to grants or early bird offers with fixed dates, so confirm the figure on the day you pay.
Introduction
When families ask me about an online BCA, the conversation usually starts with one number: how much will the whole thing cost? It is a fair question, and it rarely has a one-line answer. Universities publish BCA fees in different ways. Some show a per-semester figure, some show a yearly figure, some show an “effective fee” that changes with your payment plan, and a few leave you to multiply it out yourself. Add grants with deadlines and specialisation tracks priced differently, and two students looking at the same university can come away with two different numbers.
This guide is for students finishing Class 12, working people who want a computer applications degree without leaving their job, and parents helping with the decision. It puts the official online BCA fees of six universities side by side, as published on 21 October 2026, explains what each figure includes, shows how to work out your real total, and covers the eligibility question that trips up many applicants: do you need Maths in Class 12? If you want to see the programmes themselves, our online BCA programmes page lists the universities we cover.
How much does an online BCA cost in India?
For the six standard online BCA programmes in this comparison, the full three-year fee runs from about ₹1,05,000 to ₹1,77,000 before any discount or concession. That is the tuition picture. Once you add registration and exam fees, the lowest total in our comparison moves to about ₹1,16,500, by our calculation.
Most of the programmes sit in a fairly tight band. Manipal University Jaipur, LPU and UPES all land between ₹1,44,000 and about ₹1,50,000 at list price. Amity and Chandigarh University are around ₹1,75,000 to ₹1,77,000. The outlier at the top is Amity’s BCA in FinTech and AI, offered in partnership with Paytm, which has an effective fee of ₹2,75,000 on the semester plan.
We are not quoting an “average online BCA fee”. No official national dataset of online BCA fees exists, and an average of a handful of universities would mostly reflect which universities happened to be included. A range built from official pages is more useful when you are budgeting. If you are weighing a cheaper distance programme instead, our online BCA vs distance BCA comparison explains how the two modes differ.
Online BCA fee comparison: official figures for 2026
Every figure below comes from the university’s own online BCA page, checked on 21 October 2026. Rows are ordered by list price, lowest first. Where a university does not print a total, we multiplied the semester fee by six semesters and labelled the result as our calculation.
| University | UGC-DEB 2026-27 (BCA) | Fee per semester | Full programme fee (list) | Payment plan or offer seen on 21 October 2026 | Other charges stated | Official page |
| ARKA JAIN University | Recognised (BCA listed to January 2030) | ₹17,500 | About ₹1,05,000 (our calculation) | Not stated | Registration ₹2,500 one-time; exam fee ₹3,000 per year | ARKA JAIN online BCA |
| Manipal University Jaipur | Entitled | ₹24,000 | ₹1,44,000 | 10% off for full upfront payment: ₹1,29,600; 5% off on the annual plan: ₹45,600 per year | Application ₹500; resits, revaluation and duplicate certificates extra | MUJ online BCA (onlinemanipal.com) |
| Lovely Professional University | Entitled | ₹25,000 (includes ₹2,000 exam fee) | About ₹1,50,000 (our calculation) | 20% Student Grant: ₹20,400 per semester, valid to 24 October 2026 | Registration ₹1,000, non-refundable | LPU online BCA |
| UPES | Entitled | Not published | ₹1,50,000 (₹50,000 per year) | Easy EMI plan mentioned | Not stated on the BCA page | UPES online BCA |
| Amity University Uttar Pradesh | Entitled | ₹29,200 | ₹1,75,000 effective on the semester plan | ₹1,54,000 one-time; ₹55,420 per year on the annual plan | None listed on the page | Amity online BCA |
| Chandigarh University | Entitled | ₹22,125 with the early bird scholarship | ₹1,77,000 | 25% early bird scholarship (₹1,32,750) was shown as closing on 14 October | Seat booking ₹10,000 | CU online BCA |
| Amity University Uttar Pradesh, BCA in FinTech and AI (with Paytm) | Entitled (BCA) | ₹45,900 | ₹2,75,000 effective on the semester plan | ₹2,42,000 one-time; ₹87,090 per year on the annual plan | None listed on the page | Amity FinTech BCA |
UGC-DEB status for BCA was read from the 2026-27 entitled universities list and the 2026-27 recognised universities list. Both are scanned PDFs arranged by state, so take a moment with them if you check yourself.
Why some well-known names are missing from this table
You might wonder why Sikkim Manipal University and NMIMS, both of which run popular online programmes, do not appear. The answer sits in the regulations. Under the UGC’s online programme rules, an entitled university can run up to three undergraduate programmes online without seeking prior approval. Universities choose which ones. On the 2026-27 entitled list, Sikkim Manipal University’s undergraduate programmes are BA, BCom and BBA, and NMIMS lists BBA and BCom. Neither lists a BCA, so neither belongs in a comparison of online BCA fees right now.
ARKA JAIN University is a different case. It is on the 2026-27 recognised list, not the entitled list. Its BCA, MCA and BCom (General) are recognised from the July-August 2025 session to 2029-30 (up to January 2030 only), and its BBA and MBA (General) from the February 2025 session up to July-August 2029. Recognised status is legitimate for the programmes listed, but check that your admission session falls inside the recognition period before you pay anything.
University-wise breakdown of online BCA fees
The table gives you the headline numbers. The details below are where most of the real decisions are made, because payment plans, concessions and small print differ more than the totals do.
Amity Online BCA fees
Amity prices its standard online BCA in four ways, and each one produces a different “effective fee” on the page.
| Payment plan | Amount shown | Effective programme fee |
| Per semester | ₹29,200 | ₹1,75,000 |
| Annual | ₹55,420 per year | ₹1,66,250 |
| 24-month no-cost EMI | ₹6,927 per month | ₹1,66,250 |
| One-time | ₹1,54,000 | ₹1,54,000 |
The gap between paying semester by semester and paying everything at once is ₹21,000. That is a real saving, but only worth taking if you have the money ready and are confident you will finish. Paying upfront for a three-year programme means you carry the risk if your plans change in the first year, so read the refund policy before you choose that route.
Amity lists seven specialisation tracks for its online BCA, including Data Engineering, Software Engineering, Data Analytics, Cloud and Security, Data Science and a BCA with PMI certification pathways. The FinTech and AI track, run in partnership with Paytm, is priced separately at ₹45,900 per semester, with an effective fee of ₹2,75,000 on that plan and ₹2,42,000 if paid in one go. The page did not list a separate registration or exam fee. Amity’s FAQ mentions merit-based scholarships and financial assistance but gives no amounts, so ask admissions directly if that matters to you.
Manipal University Jaipur online BCA fees
MUJ charges ₹24,000 per semester, for a total of ₹1,44,000 across six semesters. It offers two concessions for paying ahead. Pay the full fee upfront and you get 10% off, bringing it to ₹1,29,600. Pay year by year and you get 5% off the annual amount, so ₹45,600 instead of ₹48,000.
On top of tuition, you pay a non-refundable application fee of ₹500. MUJ states that revaluation, resit exams and duplicate certificates cost extra and are not part of the programme fee. The page also offers optional Coursera access at ₹3,999, which is a separate purchase and non-refundable once bought. You do not need it to complete the degree.
MUJ’s scholarship structure is one of the clearest we have seen, so it is worth spelling out. The page lists fee waivers of 20% for Divyaang learners, defence personnel and MUJ alumni, 10% for government employees, and 10% on merit for students with 80% or more in Class 12. It says the scholarship is calculated on the total programme fee and can be combined with the upfront payment concession. No-cost EMI starts at ₹4,000 per month on 6- or 12-month tenures.
The programme runs 36 months over six semesters, carries 124 credits, and can be completed within a maximum of six years.
LPU online BCA fees
LPU shows an actual fee of ₹25,000 per semester for its online BCA, and that figure includes a ₹2,000 examination fee each semester. Across six semesters, that comes to about ₹1,50,000, by our calculation. There is also a one-time registration fee of ₹1,000, which is non-refundable and not included in the semester fee.
At the time of our check on 21 October 2026, LPU was offering a 20% Student Grant that brought the semester fee to ₹20,400, valid until 24 October 2026. If you are reading this later, assume the grant has changed and check the current figure. No-cost EMI is available, though the page did not give the monthly amount. Classes are a mix of live and recorded sessions, and the page describes “Flexible Online Exams”.
UPES online BCA fees
UPES publishes its online BCA fee as ₹1,50,000 for the full programme, split into ₹50,000 for each of the three years. It does not publish a per-semester figure on the BCA page. The page mentions an easy EMI plan and, on a related BCA page, “attractive scholarships”, but neither comes with amounts, so ask for the details in writing.
UPES offers three BCA specialisations: Cloud Computing and Cyber Security, New Age Technology, and Data Analytics. Its eligibility rule is also the most specific in this comparison, which we cover in the eligibility section below.
Chandigarh University online BCA fees
Chandigarh University lists its online BCA at ₹1,77,000 for three years. The page we checked showed a 25% early bird scholarship that brought the total to ₹1,32,750, or ₹22,125 per semester and ₹44,250 per year, with a closing date of 14 October. That date had passed by the time of our check, so the figure you are quoted now may be the full list price or a new offer.
Without the scholarship, the semester figure works out to about ₹29,500, by our calculation. You book a seat by paying ₹10,000. Ask whether that amount is adjusted against your first semester fee. The page lists a no-cost EMI plan and “On Demand Examination”. CU offers five specialisations: Data Science, Cloud Computing and Cyber Security, Agentic AI, UI/UX Design (Unity) and AR and VR (Meta).
ARKA JAIN University online BCA fees
ARKA JAIN’s online BCA page shows ₹17,500 per semester, which is about ₹1,05,000 across six semesters, by our calculation. You also pay a one-time registration fee of ₹2,500 when you submit your application and an exam fee of ₹3,000 every year. Add those and the total comes to about ₹1,16,500, again by our calculation. Instruction and exams are in English.
That makes it the lowest fee in this comparison. Before you treat it as the obvious budget choice, read the status note above. ARKA JAIN’s online BCA is on the 2026-27 recognised list, not the entitled list, and its recognition runs only up to the January 2030 session, so check that your admission session falls inside that period. A low fee is no use if the programme is not covered for the year you enrol.
What do online BCA fees include, and what costs extra?
Tuition is the big number, but it is rarely the only one. Here is what the official pages say about the other charges.
| Charge | What we found on official pages |
| Application or registration | ₹500 at MUJ, ₹1,000 at LPU, ₹2,500 at ARKA JAIN. CU asks for a ₹10,000 seat booking. |
| Exam fee | Included in LPU’s semester fee (₹2,000 per semester). ₹3,000 per year at ARKA JAIN. Not listed separately at MUJ, Amity, UPES or CU. |
| Resits and revaluation | Charged separately at MUJ, along with duplicate certificates. |
| Optional add-ons | MUJ offers optional Coursera access at ₹3,999. |
| International learners | MUJ notes that NRI and foreign students may be billed an international fee. |
A few things are worth asking about because the BCA pages do not cover them. Does GST apply to any component? Is study material included? Is there a fee for the degree certificate, transcripts or convocation? What is the refund policy if you withdraw in the first semester? Only the university can answer these, and the answers differ.
Can you pay online BCA fees in EMI?
Yes, at most of the universities here. Amity lists a 24-month no-cost EMI of ₹6,927 per month for its standard BCA, which works out to an effective fee of ₹1,66,250. MUJ’s no-cost EMI starts at ₹4,000 per month over 6 or 12 months. LPU, CU and UPES mention no-cost or easy EMI without giving the monthly amount on the BCA page. ARKA JAIN’s BCA page does not mention EMI.
No-cost EMI is usually arranged through a lending partner, so it is still a loan. Before you sign, check the tenure, any processing fee, what happens if you miss a payment, and whether choosing EMI disqualifies you from other offers. MUJ, for example, states that learners who take a loan or financing are not eligible for additional discounts or offers.
Are there scholarships for online BCA students?
Some universities spell out their scholarships clearly, others only mention them.
| University | Scholarship or concession stated on 21 October 2026 |
| Manipal University Jaipur | 20% for Divyaang, defence personnel and alumni; 10% for government employees; 10% merit for 80% or more in Class 12. Plus 10% for full upfront payment or 5% for annual payment. |
| LPU | 20% Student Grant, valid to 24 October 2026 |
| Chandigarh University | 25% early bird scholarship, shown as closing 14 October |
| Amity | Merit-based scholarships and financial assistance mentioned in the FAQ, no amounts given |
| UPES | “Attractive scholarships” mentioned, no amounts given |
| ARKA JAIN | None stated on the BCA page |
If a scholarship is part of your budget, ask three questions. Does it apply to every semester or only the first? Can it be combined with an upfront payment discount? What do you need to submit to prove eligibility, and by when?
How do you calculate the real total cost of an online BCA?
The cleanest method is to add every line you will actually pay over three years, then subtract only the discounts you are sure you qualify for. Here are four worked examples using the official figures. All totals are our calculation.
ARKA JAIN University, semester plan
- Tuition: ₹17,500 x 6 semesters = ₹1,05,000
- Registration: ₹2,500
- Exam fee: ₹3,000 x 3 years = ₹9,000
- Total: about ₹1,16,500
LPU, semester plan
- Tuition including exam fee: ₹25,000 x 6 semesters = ₹1,50,000
- Registration: ₹1,000
- Total: about ₹1,51,000
If the 20% Student Grant applied to all six semesters, the semester fee would be ₹20,400, which gives ₹1,22,400 plus ₹1,000 registration, or about ₹1,23,400. That only holds if the grant covers the whole programme, which is exactly the question to ask before you count on it.
Manipal University Jaipur, full upfront payment
- Programme fee: ₹1,44,000
- Less 10% upfront concession: ₹1,29,600
- Application fee: ₹500
- Total: about ₹1,30,100
MUJ says scholarships are calculated on the total programme fee and can be combined with the upfront concession. If you qualified for the 10% merit scholarship as well, that would take a further ₹14,400 off, for about ₹1,15,700 including the application fee. Confirm with the university before you rely on both.
Amity, semester plan versus one-time
- Semester plan: ₹1,75,000 effective
- One-time: ₹1,54,000
- Difference: ₹21,000
Then add any resits. Resit and revaluation fees are not in any headline figure, and they are the cost students most often forget.
Do you need Maths in Class 12 for an online BCA?
It depends on the university, and the pages are not always consistent with each other. This is one of the most useful things to confirm before you apply, because it decides whether you are eligible at all.
| University | What the official page says about Class 12 |
| UPES | Maths, Computer Science or IT in Class 12 with at least 45%. Without these subjects, you complete a basic maths or basic computer course within 6 weeks of provisional admission. A three-year AICTE-recognised diploma with 45% is also accepted. |
| Amity | The eligibility section asks for 10+2. The FAQ says you need to have cleared 10+2 with Mathematics. |
| Manipal University Jaipur | 10+2 from a recognised board, or a 10+3 diploma. No Maths requirement or minimum percentage stated. |
| Chandigarh University | 10+2 or equivalent in any stream. |
| ARKA JAIN University | Pass in 10+2 from any recognised board. |
| LPU | No Maths requirement or minimum percentage stated on the BCA page. |
If you did not study Maths in Class 12, you still have options. UPES has a defined bridge route, and CU accepts any stream. At Amity, the two parts of the page say different things, so get the rule confirmed in writing by the admissions team before you pay. A BCA has programming and mathematics in the first year either way. Amity’s FinTech track, for instance, lists Basic Mathematics in Semester 1, so be ready for some numerical work whichever university you choose.
How are online BCA exams conducted?
Exam format matters for working students and for anyone without a quiet space at home, so it is worth checking. MUJ gives the most detail: term-end exams are computer-based and online proctored, you can take them from home on a Windows desktop or laptop with the latest Chrome browser, and the Safe Exam Browser does not work on iOS devices. You need at least 40% in each component to pass.
LPU describes “Flexible Online Exams”, CU lists “On Demand Examination”, and ARKA JAIN states that instruction and examination are in English. The Amity and UPES BCA pages did not describe the exam format. Ask each university about device requirements, exam windows, and whether there is a fee if you need to reschedule.
Which online BCA has the lowest fees?
On list price, ARKA JAIN University is the lowest in this comparison at about ₹1,05,000 in tuition, or about ₹1,16,500 with registration and exam fees, by our calculation. Its BCA is on the 2026-27 recognised list up to January 2030, so check that your admission session falls inside that period.
Among universities whose online BCA appears on the 2026-27 entitled list, Manipal University Jaipur has the lowest list price at ₹1,44,000, and ₹1,29,600 with the upfront concession. LPU can come in lower for a while, at ₹20,400 per semester while its Student Grant runs, but that depends on whether the grant applies to every semester.
Why do online BCA fees differ between universities?
The official pages do not explain their pricing, so we will not guess at reasons. What we can say is that a higher fee does not automatically mean a better programme, and a lower fee does not automatically mean a weaker one. Compare on the things that affect your three years.
1. UGC-DEB listing for BCA for your admission session, entitled or recognised.
2. Eligibility fit, especially the Class 12 Maths rule.
3. Specialisation choices. These range from three at UPES to seven at Amity.
4. Exam format and device requirements.
5. Total cost with every extra included.
What online BCA fees do not tell you
A fee table cannot tell you how much live teaching you get, how quickly faculty respond to questions, how good the learning platform is on a slow connection, or whether the specialisation you want has enough depth to help you get work. Those things matter just as much over three years.
It also cannot tell you what you will earn afterwards. No official dataset tracks outcomes for online BCA graduates in India, so be wary of anyone who promises a specific salary or placement. If career support is important to you, ask the university what support exists for the online cohort specifically, and ask for details rather than adjectives. To judge the teaching itself, compare the online BCA syllabus semester by semester before you pay.
Questions to ask before you pay any online BCA fee
1. Is the online BCA listed on the UGC-DEB list for my admission session? Can you send me the page reference?
2. What is the full fee for all six semesters, including registration, exam and any other charges?
3. Is the discount or grant valid for every semester or only the first, and what happens after the deadline?
4. Do I need Mathematics in Class 12, and if I did not take it, is there a bridge course?
5. What is the refund policy if I withdraw in the first semester?
6. Does GST apply to any part of the fee?
7. What are the EMI tenure, processing fee and penalty terms, and does choosing EMI cancel any other discount?
8. What devices and software do I need for exams?
Write the answers down. If an answer is vague, ask for it in writing from the university, not a third party.
If you would like help comparing these programmes side by side, you can explore online BCA programmes on our site or speak to an admission advisor. We will share the current official fee schedule for your shortlist and help you put the questions above to each university.
How GetOnlineDegree.in Helps
We help students compare online degree programmes from universities that appear on the UGC-DEB lists, using the universities’ own published information. For an online BCA, that means putting fees, payment plans, eligibility rules and specialisations next to each other so you can see the differences clearly.
When you speak to our admission advisors, they can walk you through the official fee schedule for each university on your shortlist and point you to where the programme appears on the DEB list for your session. You can also browse our partner universities to see which programmes each one offers. The choice stays with you. We would rather you enrol knowing the full cost than be surprised by it later.
Conclusion
Online BCA course fees in India at the universities we checked run from about ₹1.05 lakh to ₹1.77 lakh for three years, with one specialist track at ₹2.75 lakh. The headline figure is only the start. Payment plans can move the price by ₹20,000 or more, registration and exam fees add up, and offers with deadlines change what you pay from one week to the next.
Settle the eligibility question first, especially the Class 12 Maths rule. Then confirm the BCA’s DEB listing for your session, ask for the full fee in writing, and only then compare prices. That order will save you from the most common and most expensive mistakes.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the fee for an online BCA in India?
Among the six universities we checked on 21 October 2026, the full online BCA fee ranges from about ₹1,05,000 at ARKA JAIN University to ₹1,77,000 at Chandigarh University before discounts. Most programmes cost between ₹1,44,000 and ₹1,75,000. Amity’s FinTech and AI track is higher at ₹2,75,000 on the semester plan. Registration and exam fees are extra at some universities.
Which UGC-entitled online BCA has the lowest fees?
Among universities that list BCA on the UGC-DEB entitled list for 2026-27, Manipal University Jaipur has the lowest list price at ₹1,44,000, or ₹1,29,600 if you pay the full fee upfront. LPU’s semester fee falls to ₹20,400 while its 20% Student Grant runs, so ask whether the grant covers all six semesters.
Do I need Maths in Class 12 for an online BCA?
Not everywhere. UPES asks for Maths, Computer Science or IT in Class 12 with 45%, or a short bridge course after admission. Chandigarh University accepts any stream. Amity’s FAQ mentions 10+2 with Mathematics. MUJ, LPU and ARKA JAIN do not state a Maths requirement on their BCA pages. Confirm the rule in writing before you apply.
Can I pay online BCA fees in EMI?
Yes, at most universities here. Amity lists a 24-month no-cost EMI of ₹6,927 per month, and MUJ’s EMI starts at ₹4,000 per month. LPU, CU and UPES mention EMI without giving amounts on the BCA page. EMI is usually a loan through a lending partner, so check the terms and whether it cancels other discounts.
Are exam fees included in online BCA fees?
It depends on the university. LPU’s ₹25,000 semester fee includes a ₹2,000 exam fee. ARKA JAIN charges ₹3,000 per year separately. MUJ charges extra for resits, revaluation and duplicate certificates. Always ask for a written fee schedule that lists every charge for all six semesters.